<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 19EDUCATION
PART 1TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD
CHAPTER 21STUDENT SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER BDETERMINATION OF RESIDENT STATUS
RULE §21.24Determination of Resident Status

(a) The following persons shall be classified as Texas residents and entitled to pay resident tuition at all institutions of higher education:

  (1) a person who:

    (A) graduated from a public or accredited private high school in this state or received the equivalent of a high school diploma in this state, including the successful completion of a nontraditional secondary education, and

    (B) maintained a residence continuously in this state for:

      (i) the thirty-six months immediately preceding the date of graduation or receipt of the diploma equivalent, as applicable; and

      (ii) the 12 months preceding the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls in an institution.

  (2) a person who:

    (A) established domicile in this state not less than 12 months before the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls in an institution; and

    (B) maintained domicile continuously in the state for the 12 months immediately preceding the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls in an institution.

  (3) a dependent whose parent:

    (A) established domicile in this state not less than 12 months before the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls in an institution; and

    (B) maintained domicile continuously in the state for the 12 months immediately preceding the census date of the academic semester in which the person enrolls in an institution.

(b) Texas Residency: The following is a list of documents that may provide support to a claim of physical residence in Texas.

  (1) Utility bills for the 12 consecutive months preceding the census date;

  (2) Cancelled checks that reflect a Texas residence for the 12 consecutive months preceding the census date;

  (3) A current credit report that documents the length and place of residence of the person or the dependent's parent to be in Texas and the length of residence to be at least 12 consecutive months preceding the census date;

  (4) Texas voter registration card that was issued at least 12 months prior to the census date;

  (5) Lease or rental of residential real property in the name of the person or the dependent's parent for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the census date;

  (6) Texas high school transcript for full senior year immediately preceding the census date or a transcript from a Texas institution of higher education showing presence in the state for the 12 consecutive months preceding the census date.

(c) The student has the burden of proof to show by clear and convincing evidence that domicile has been established and maintained as required by subsections (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this section.

(d) The following non-U. S. citizens are eligible to establish and maintain domicile in this state for the purposes of subsection (a)(2) or (3) of this section:

  (1) a Permanent Resident;

  (2) a person who is eligible for permanent resident status, as defined in §21.22(7) of this title (relating to Definitions);

  (3) a nonimmigrant who holds one of the types of visas identified as eligible to domicile;

  (4) a person classified by the USCIS as a Refugee, Asylee, Parolee, Conditional Permanent Resident, or Temporary Resident;

  (5) a person holding Temporary Protected Status, and Spouses and Children with approved petitions under the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), an applicant with an approved USCIS I-360, and a person granted deferred action status by USCIS;

  (6) a person who has filed an application for Cancellation of Removal and Adjustment of Status under Immigration Nationality Act 240A(b) or a Cancellation of Removal and Adjustment of Status under the Nicaraguan and Central American Relief Act (NACARA), Haitian Refugee Immigrant Fairness Act (HRIFA), or the Cuban Adjustment Act, and who has been issued a fee/filing receipt or Notice of Action by USCIS; and

  (7) a person who has filed for adjustment of status to that of a person admitted as a Permanent Resident under 8 United States Code 1255, or under the "registry" program (8 United States Code 1259), or the Special Immigrant Juvenile Program (8 USC 1101(a)(27)(J)) and has been issued a fee/filing receipt or Notice of Action by USCIS.

(e) The domicile of a dependent's parent is presumed to be the domicile of the dependent unless the dependent establishes eligibility for resident tuition under subsection (a)(1) of this section.

(f) Although not conclusive or exhaustive, the following factors occurring throughout a consecutive 12-month period prior to the census date of the semester in which a person seeks to enroll may lend support to a claim regarding his/her intent to establish domicile in Texas. Continued presence in the state from the end of that period until the census date of the semester in which a person seeks to enroll, except for temporary absences as defined in §21.22(28), may lend support to a claim of maintaining domicile in Texas:

  (1) Establishment of Domicile:

    (A) Significant Gainful Employment:

      (i) An employer's statement of dates of employment in Texas (beginning and current or ending dates) that encompass at least 12 consecutive months prior to the census date of the term in which the person enrolls or pay stubs for 12 consecutive months prior to the census date, reflecting significant gainful employment in Texas, or proof of other earned income such as pensions, veterans' benefits, social security, and savings from previous earnings for 12 consecutive months prior to the census date. However, employment conditioned on student status, such as work study, the receipt of stipends, fellowships, or research or teaching assistantships does not constitute gainful employment for the purposes of this subchapter.

      (ii) For a person who is unemployed and living on public assistance, written statements from the office of one or more social service agencies located in Texas that attest to the provision of services to the person for the 12 consecutive months prior to the census date of the term in which the person enrolls.

    (B) Residential Real Property. Sole or joint marital ownership of residential real property in Texas with documentation to verify 12 consecutive months of ownership prior to the census date of the term in which the person enrolls, such as a Warranty Deed, with the person or the dependent's parent having established and maintained domicile at that residence.

    (C) Marriage to a Person who has Established and Maintained Domicile in Texas Marriage Certificate or Declaration of Registration of Informal Marriage with documentation to support that spouse has established and maintained domicile in Texas for 12 consecutive months prior to the census date of the term in which the person enrolls.

    (D) Ownership of a Business Entity. Documents that evidence the organization of the business in Texas that reflect the ownership interest of the person or dependent's parent, and the customary management of the business by the person or dependent's parent without the intention of liquidation for the foreseeable future.

  (2) Maintenance of Domicile: A person who established domicile through one of the actions described in paragraph (1) of this subsection and continues to reside in the State of Texas, except for temporary absences as defined in §21.22(29) of this subchapter, is considered to have maintained domicile in Texas for that period of time unless he or she takes specific steps to change his or her domicile to a different location.

(g) An individual whose initial purpose for moving to Texas is to attend an institution of higher education as a full-time student will be presumed not to have the required intent to make Texas his or her domicile; however, the presumption may be overruled by clear and convincing evidence.

(h) An individual shall not ordinarily be able to establish domicile by performing acts which are directly related to fulfilling educational objectives or which are required or routinely performed by temporary residents of the State.

(i) A member of the United States Armed Services whose Home of Record with the military is Texas is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children. A member whose Home of Record is not Texas but who provides the institution Leave and Earnings Statements that show the member has claimed Texas as his or her place of residence for the 12 consecutive months prior to enrollment is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children.


Source Note: The provisions of this §21.24 adopted to be effective May 21, 2008, 33 TexReg 3939; amended to be effective August 25, 2008, 33 TexReg 6813; amended to be effective February 23, 2011, 36 TexReg 923; amended to be effective September 6, 2011, 36 TexReg 5682; amended to be effective November 23, 2016, 41 TexReg 9133

Next Page Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page