Figure: 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C)

## Countries in which English is the Official Language

The countries listed below have been approved by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) to satisfy the English language proficiency requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C). To be exempted from the Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-Based Test (TOEFL iBT) testing requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(B), a certification candidate must have earned an undergraduate or graduate degree from an institution of higher education on the SBEC-approved list of countries.

American Samoa Gibraltar

Anguilla Grand Cayman

Antigua and Barbuda Grenada
Australia Guyana
Bahamas Jamaica
Barbados Liberia
Belize Nigeria

Bermuda Saint Kitts and Nevis

British Virgin Islands Saint Lucia

Cayman Islands Trinidad/Tobago

Canada (except Quebec)

Dominica

Turks and Caicos

United Kingdom

Gambia U.S. Pacific Trust

Ghana