Figure: 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C)

Countries in which English is the Official Language

The countries listed below have been approved by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) to satisfy the English language proficiency requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C). To be exempted from the Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-Based Test (TOEFL iBT) testing requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(B), a certification candidate must have earned an undergraduate or graduate degree from an institution of higher education on the SBEC-approved list of countries.

American Samoa Grand Cayman

Anguilla Grenada

Antigua and Barbuda Guyana

Australia India

Bahamas Ireland

Barbados Jamaica

Belize Liberia

Bermuda New Zealand

British Virgin Islands Nigeria

Canada (except Quebec) Saint Kitts and Nevis

Cayman Islands Saint Lucia

Dominica Singapore

Federated States of Micronesia Trinidad/Tobago

Gambia Turks and Caicos Islands

Ghana United Kingdom

Gibraltar U.S. Pacific Trust