Figure: 4 TAC §231.1

Schedule of Disciplinary Sanctions

Source Law	Violation	Type of Violation	Penalty	Enhancement
§§ 153.046(5),	Failure to maintain	Administrative	Initial violation:	1. Initial violation with harm to
153.047(5),	insurance. (Initial		\$1,000 fine.	the public or third parties: \$1,000
153.048(b)(4),	Violation)			to \$2,500.
and 153.082 of	This violation includes			
the Texas Natural	the following conduct:			2. If a Certified and Insured
Resources Code	failure to notify the			Prescribed Burn Manager
and 4 T.A.C.	Department in writing			("CIPBM") engages in false or
§227.1	of an insurance change			misleading conduct when
	including; reduction,			reporting or verifying insurance
	lapse, or cancellation.			to the department, the department
	misrepresenting the			may impose enhanced
	status of insurance, for			administrative penalty(ies), up to
	example, not correctly			and including the maximum fine
	reporting a policy			of \$5,000, temporary suspension
	change, or			of certification, and/or permanent
	misrepresenting the			revocation of certification, based
	status of insurance			on the factors set forth in Section
	when lapsed			153.102 of the Texas Natural
	failure to verify			Resources Code.
	insurance annually			
§§ 153.046(5),	Failure to maintain	Administrative	Second violation	1. Second violation with harm to
153.047(5),	insurance. (Second		within three years:	the public or third parties: fine of
153.048(b)(4),	Violation)		\$2,000 fine.	\$2,500 to \$3,000.
and 153.082 of	This violation includes			
the Texas Natural	the following conduct:			2. If a CIPBM engages in false or
Resources Code	failure to notify the			misleading conduct when
and 4 T.A.C.	Department in writing			reporting or verifying insurance
§227.1	of an insurance change			to the department, the department
	including; reduction,			may impose enhanced
	lapse, or cancellation.			administrative penalty(ies), up to
	misrepresenting the			and including the maximum fine
	status of insurance, for			of \$5,000, temporary suspension
	example, not correctly			of certification, and/or permanent
	reporting a policy			revocation of certification, based
	change or			on the factors set forth in Section
	misrepresenting the			153.102 of the Texas Natural
	status of insurance			Resources Code.
	when lapsed			
	failure to verify			
	insurance annually			

§§ 153.046(5), 153.047(5), 153.048(b)(4), and 153.082 of the Texas Natural Resources Code and 4 T.A.C. §227.1	Failure to maintain insurance. (Third Violation) This violation includes the following conduct: failure to notify the Department in writing of an insurance change including; reduction, lapse, or cancellation misrepresentingthe status of insurance or misrepresenting the status of insurance when lapsed failure to verify insurance annually	Administrative	Third violation within three years: \$3,000 fine.	1. Third violation with harmto the public or third parties: fine of \$3,000 to \$5,000. If a CIPBM engages in false or misleading conduct when reporting or verifying insurance to the department, the department may impose enhanced administrative penalty(ies), up to and including the maximum fine of \$5,000, temporary suspension of certification, and/or permanent revocation of certification, based on the factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural Resources Code.
§§ 153.046(5), 153.047(5), 153.048(b)(4), and 153.082 of the Texas Natural Resources Code and 4 T.A.C. §228.2(a)(2)(A)	Failure to provide proof of current insurance coverage to the landowner or landowner's agent upon request prior to conducting prescribed burn activities. (Initial violation)	Administrative	Initial violation: \$250 fine.	1. Initial violation with harm to the public or third parties: \$300 to \$500. If a CIPBM engages in false or misleading conduct when providing proof of coverage to a landowner or landowner's agent, the department may impose enhanced administrative penalty(ies), up to and including the maximum fine of \$5,000, temporary suspension of certification, and/or permanent revocation of certification, based on the factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural Resources Code.
§153.082 of the Texas Natural Resources Code and 4 T.A.C.	Failure to provide proof of current insurance coverage to the landowner or	Administrative	Second violation within three years: \$500 fine.	1. Second violation with harm to the public or third parties: fine of \$600 to \$1,000.

§228.2(a)(2)(A)	landowner's agent upon request prior to conducting prescribed burn activities. (Second violation)			2. If a CIPBM engages in false or misleading conduct when providing proof of coverage to a landowner or landowner's agent, the department may impose enhanced administrative penalty(ies), up to and including the maximum fine of \$5,000, temporary suspension of certification, and/or permanent revocation of certification, based on the factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural Resources Code.
§153.082 of the Texas Natural Resources Code and 4 T.A.C. §228.2(a)(2)(A)	Failure to provide proof of current insurance coverage to the landowner or landowner's agent upon request prior to conducting prescribed burn activities. (Third violation)	Administrative	Third violation within three years: \$1,000 Fine.	1. Third violation with harm to the public or third parties: Permanent revocation of certification with a fine of \$1,250 to \$5,000 2. If a CIPBM engages in false or misleading conduct when providing proof of coverage to a landowner or landowner's agent, the department may impose enhanced administrative penalty(ies), up to and including the maximum fine of \$5,000, temporary suspension of certification, and/or permanent revocation of certification, based on the factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural Resources Code.
4 T.A.C. §228.2(a)(2)(B)	Failure to provide a copy of the certified and insured prescribed burn manager certificate to the landowner or landowner's agent upon request prior to conducting a burn. (Initial violation)	Administrative	Initial violation: \$250 fine.	Initial violation with harm to the public or third parties: \$300 to \$500.

4 T.A.C. §228.2(a)(2)(B)	Failure to provide a copy of the certified and insured prescribed burn manager certificate to the landowner or landowner's agent upon request prior to conducting a burn. (Second violation)	Administrative	Second violation within three years: \$500 fine.	Second violation with harm to the public or third parties: fine of \$2,500 to \$3,000.
4 T.A.C. §228.2(a)(2)(B)	Failure to provide a copy of the certified and insured prescribed burn manager certificate to the landowner or landowner's agent upon request prior to conducting a burn. (Third violation)	Administrative	Third violation within three years: \$1,000 fine and revocation of certification.	Third violation with harm to the public or third parties: Permanent revocation of certification with a fine of \$1,250 to \$5,000.
4 T.A.C. §226.6	Failure to obtain required CFTs or maintain documentation of CFTs.	Administrative	Violation: Temporary suspension of renewal of certification.	Violation with harm to the public or third parties: fine of \$500.
4 T.A.C. §§ 229.4(b)(1)	Failure by CFT sponsor to provide activity roster. (Initial Violation)	Administrative	Initial violation: 15 day suspension from administering, presenting, or instructing at CFT activities.	Not applicable.
4 T.A.C. §§ 229.4(b)(1)	Failure by CFT sponsor to provide activity roster. (Second Violation)	Administrative	Second violation within three years: 30 day suspension from administering, presenting, or instructing at CFT activities.	Not applicable

4 T.A.C. § 229.4(c)	Multiple violations of Rule 229.4 by a CFT sponsor.	Administrative	Multiple violations: The department will refer the CFT sponsor to the Board, for consideration of a temporary suspension or permanent revocation of the CFT sponsor from further CFT activities.	In determining the recommended length of temporary suspension of a CFT sponsor, or whether to revoke a CFT sponsor, the department will consider those factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural Resources Code.
4 T.A.C. §227.4(d)	Failure to keep insurance records. Insurance records shall be kept for the longer of five years from the date of the original issuance of the insurance policy, or for so long as any complaint or litigation is pending against the CIPBM (Initial Violation)	Record Keeping	Initial violation: \$250.00 fine.	Not applicable.
4 T.A.C. § 227.4(d)	Failure to keep insurance records. Insurance records shall be kept for the longer of five years from the date of the original issuance of the insurance policy,or for so long as any complaint or litigation is pending against the certified and insured prescribed burn manager CIPBM (Second Violation)	Record Keeping	Second violation within three years: \$500 fine.	Not applicable.
4 T.A.C. § 227.4(d)	Insurance records shall be kept for the longer of five years from the date of the original issuance of the insurance policy,or for so long as any complaint or	Record Keeping	Third violation within three years: \$1,000 fine.	Not applicable.

	T			
	litigation is			
	pending against the			
	CIPBM			
	(Third Violation)			
			T	<u>, </u>
4 T.A.C. §	Failure to keep CFT	Record Keeping	Initial violation:	Not applicable.
227.4(d)	records and have them		\$250.00 fine	
	available for			
	inspection. CFT			
	records shall be kept for a minimum of five			
	years from the date			
	the CFT was earned.			
	(Initial Violation)			
4 T A C 2	·	D 177	G 1 1	N. 1. 11
4 T.A.C. §	Failure to keep CFT records and have them	Record Keeping	Second violation	Not applicable.
227.4(d)	available for		within three years: \$400 fine.	
	inspection. CFT		ψ 100 iiiie.	
	records shall be kept			
	for a minimum of five			
	years from the date			
	the CFT was earned.			
	(Second Violation)			
4 T.A.C. §	Failure to keep CFT	Record Keeping	Third violation	Not applicable.
227.4(d)	records and have them		within three years:	
	available for		\$1,000 fine.	
	inspection. CFT			
	records shall be kept for a minimum of five			
	years from the date the			
	CFT was earned.			
	(Third Violation)			
4 T A C C	, , ,	D 177	T.: 1211111	N. I. II
4 T.A.C. §	Failure to have	Record Keeping	Initial violation:	Not applicable.
227.4(d)	available or keep a Prescribed Burn File		\$250.00 fine.	
	for a minimum of five			
	years from the date of			
	a prescribed burn.			
	(Initial Violation)			
	7.11			
4 T.A.C. §	Failure to have	Record Keeping	Second violation	Not applicable.
227.4(d)	available or keep a		within three years:	
	Prescribed Burn File		\$500 fine.	
	for a minimum of five years from the date of			
	a prescribed burn.			
	(Second Violation)			
	/			

		T	1	
4 T.A.C. § 227.4(d)	Failure to have available or keep a Prescribed Burn File for a minimum of five years from the date of a prescribed burn. (Third Violation)	Record Keeping	Third violation within three years: \$1,000fine.	Not applicable
§153.047(2) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. § 228.3(a)	Failure to have an insured CIPBM present during an active prescribed burn. (Initial Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Initial violation: One year suspension and \$1,000 fine.	Initial violation with harm to the public or third parties: 13 month to 24 month suspension; fine of \$1,100 to \$5,000.
§153.047(2) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. § 228.3(a)	Failure to have an insured CIPBM present during an active prescribed burn. (Second Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Second violation within three years: Permanent revocation of certification and a \$2,000 fine.	Second violation with harm: Permanent revocation of certification and fine of \$2,100 to \$5,000.
§153.047(3)(A) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. §§ 228.1(a) & 228.1(b)	Failure to follow a written prescribed burn plan while conducting a prescribed burn. (Initial Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Initial violation: \$1,000.00 fine.	Punishment may be enhanced for conduct that results in substantial harm to a third party or the public, pursuant to the factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas NaturalResources Code.
§153.047(3)(A) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. § 228.1(a) & 228.1(b)	Failure to follow a written prescribed burn plan while conducting a prescribed burn. (Second Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Second violation within three years: 15 to 180 day suspension with \$2,000 fine.	Punishment may be enhanced for reckless or intentional conduct that results in substantial harm to a third party or the public, pursuant to the factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural Resources Code.
§153.047(3)(A) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. § 228.1(a) & 228.1(b)	Failure to follow a written prescribed burn plan while conducting a prescribed burn. (Third Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Third violation within three years: Permanent revocation of certification with \$3,000 fine.	Third violation with harm to the public or third parties: Permanent revocation of certification with a fine of \$3,100 to \$5,000.
§153.047(3) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. § 228.1(a)	Conducting a prescribed burn without a written prescribed burn plan. (Initial Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Initial violation: Permanent revocation of certification witha \$5,000 fine.	Not applicable.

4 T.A.C. §228.4	Failure to adhere to procedures when conducting a burn during a burn ban. (Initial Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Initial violation: \$1,000 fine.	Initial violation with harm to the public or third parties: 15 to 180 day suspension with fine of \$1,000 to \$2,500.
4 T.A.C. §228.4	Failure to adhere to procedures when conducting a burn during a burn ban. (Second Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Second violation within three years: 15 to 180 day suspension with \$2,000 fine.	Second violation with harm to the public or third parties: Suspension of license from 60 days to 18 months; fine of \$2,100 to \$3,000.
4 T.A.C. §228.4	Failure to adhere to procedures when conducting a burn during a burn ban. (Third Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Third violation within three years: Permanent revocation of certification with \$3,000 fine.	Third violation with harm to the public or third parties: Permanent revocation of certification with fine of \$3,100 to \$5,000.
§153.047(4) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. §228.2(a)(1)	Failure to provide written notification to residents, owners, occupants or operators of structures containingsensitive receptors (residences, greenhouses, stables, etc.) that are within 300 feet of and in the general direction downwind from the prescribed burn. (Initial Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Initial violation: \$1,000.00 fine.	Initial violation with harm to the public or third parties: 15 to 180 day suspension with fine of \$1,200 to \$2,500.
§153.047(4) of the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C. §227.4(b)(1)(B) §228.2(a)(1)	Failure to provide written notification to residents, owners, occupants or operators of structures containingsensitive receptors (residences, greenhouses, stables, etc.) that are within 300 feet of and in the general direction downwind from the prescribed burn. (Second Violation)	Statutory or Rule	Second violation within three years: 15 to 180 day suspension with \$2,000 fine.	Second violation with harm to the public or third parties: Suspension of license from 60 days to 18 months; fine of \$2,100 to \$3,000.

§153.047(4) of	Failure to provide	Statutory or Rule	Third violation	Third violation with harm to
the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C.	written notification to residents, owners, occupants or		within three years: Permanent revocation of	the public or third parties: Permanent revocation of certification with fine of
§228.2(a)(1)	operators of structures containingsensitive receptors (residences, greenhouses, stables, etc.) that are within 300 feet of and in the general direction downwind from the prescribed burn (Third Violation)		certification with \$3,000 fine.	\$3,100 to \$5,000.
§153.104 of the Texas Natural Resources Code	Upon reasonable determination by the department, a CIPBM is engaged in or about to engage in conduct in violation of Chapter 153 of the Natural Resources Code which constitutes an immediate threat to public welfare.	Statutory or Rule	Permanent suspension and revocation of certification.	Punishment may be enhanced for reckless or intentional conduct that results in substantial harm to a thirdparty or the public.
Chapter 153 of	Multiple violations	Statutory or Rule	For four or more	In determining the sanction(s)
the Texas Natural Resources Code; 4 T.A.C.	by a CIPBM of Chapter 153 of the Natural Resources Code; multiple	Statutory of Rule	violations of statute or rules that regulate prescribed	for four or more violations of any single statute or rule, or four or more violations of multiple statutes or rules, the
Chapters 225, 226, 227, 228,	violations of administrative rules pertaining to		burning activities in Texas, the department may	department will consider those factors set forth in Section 153.102 of the Texas Natural
229, and 230	obtaining, maintaining or keeping insurance; multiple violations of administrative rules pertaining to		assess the following penalties: \$1,500to \$5,000 fine; suspension of 15 days to 20	Resources Code.
	obtaining or reporting CFTs; multiple violations of record keeping rules; multiple		months; and/or permanent revocation of certification.	
	violations of 4 T.A.C. Chapters 225,226, 227, 228, 229, and 230; and/or			
	any combination of the above.			

Section 153.103 of	If a person	Statute	Section 153.103 of	Not applicable.
the Texas Natural	represents to the		the Natural	
Resources Code	public that he or she		Resources Code	
	is a CIPBM, but is		gives the	
	not a CIPBM,the		department	
	department may		authority to apply	
	apply to a district		for an injunction	
	court in any county		from a district	
	for an injunction		court in any county	
	restraining such		to restraina person	
	person from		who is not a	
	representing that he		CIPBM from	
	or she is a CIPBM.		representingthat	
			the person is	
			a CIPBM.	