<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §355.8215Public Health Provider - Charity Care Program (PHP-CCP)

(a) Introduction. This section establishes the Public Health Provider - Charity Care Program (PHP-CCP). PHP-CCP is designed to allow qualified providers to receive reimbursement for the cost of delivering healthcare services, including behavioral health services, vaccine services, public health services, and other preventative services, when those costs are not reimbursed by another source. The program is authorized under the 1115 waiver.

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

  (1) Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)--The federal agency within the United States Department of Health and Human Services responsible for overseeing and directing Medicare and Medicaid, or its successor.

  (2) Medicaid shortfall--The unreimbursed cost to a qualifying provider of providing Medicaid services to Medicaid clients.

  (3) Preventative services--For clients 21 years of age or older, services described in Section, Preventative Care Visits of the Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual as of the effective date of this section. For clients birth through 20 years of age, services covered under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) service.

  (4) Program period--A period of time for which eligible and enrolled providers may receive the PHP-CCP amounts described in this section. Each PHP-CCP period is equal to a Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) beginning October 1 and ending September 30 of the following year.

  (5) Public health services--Services designed to protect and promote the general population's health and to prevent higher cost interventions such as hospitalizations. These services include, but are not limited to, tuberculosis identification, diagnosis, and treatment; sexually transmitted diseases identification, diagnosis, and treatment; immunization (clinical services and administration); dental care; and chronic disease screening, monitoring, and self-management.

  (6) Qualifying Providers--Publicly-owned and operated Community Mental Health Clinics (CMHCs), community centers, Local Behavioral Health Authorities (LBHAs) and Local Mental Health Authorities (LMHAs) that are established under the Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 533 or 534 and are primarily providing behavioral health services, and publicly-owned and operated Local Health Departments (LHDs) and Public Health Districts (PHDs) that are established under the Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 121.

  (7) Total program value--The maximum amount available under PHP-CCP for a program period, as determined by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) and CMS.

  (8) Uncompensated care costs--The sum of the Medicaid shortfall and the uninsured costs.

  (9) Uncompensated care payments--Payments intended to defray the uncompensated costs of providing services.

  (10) Uncompensated care tool--A form prescribed by HHSC to identify uncompensated costs for Medicaid-enrolled providers and used to enroll in the program.

  (11) Uninsured costs--The unreimbursed cost to a qualifying provider of providing services that meet the definition of "medical assistance" in Social Security Act §1905(a) to uninsured patients as defined by CMS.

  (12) Uninsured patient--An individual who has no health insurance or other source of third-party coverage for the services provided. The term includes an individual enrolled in Medicaid who received services that do not meet the definition of "medical assistance" in the Social Security Act §1905(a).

  (13) Waiver--The Texas Healthcare Transformation and Quality Improvement Program Medicaid demonstration waiver under Social Security Act §1115.

(c) Participation requirements.

  (1) Qualifying provider. A provider must indicate it is a qualifying provider as defined in subsection (b) of this section to be considered for reimbursement in the application process.

  (2) PHP-CCP financial training. HHSC provides annual training to participating qualifying providers.

    (A) A PHP-CCP financial contact must attend and receive credit for training for each program period in which the provider chooses to participate. Multiple individuals from a qualifying provider may attend and receive credit for training for each program period.

    (B) Training is provided for each program period and is not retroactive. The qualifying provider must have at least one financial contact attend the annual training directly prior to the program period to participate.

    (C) A provider that does not have a trained PHP-CCP financial contact who is an employee of the provider is prohibited from submitting a PHP-CCP application. Provider-contracted vendors are permitted to enter a provider's data into the cost report for any provider as a report preparer.

  (3) Cost reports. Qualifying providers must submit an annual uncompensated care tool for uncompensated care costs. Uncompensated care tools must be completed for a full year based on the federal fiscal year.

    (A) The uncompensated care tool format will be specified by HHSC. Qualifying providers certify through the cost report process their total actual federal and non-federal costs and expenditures for the program period. Costs must be reported in a manner that is consistent with the PHP-CCP protocol that is approved under the 1115 Waiver.

    (B) The cost report is due on or before November 14 of the year of the program period ending date and must be certified in a manner specified by HHSC.

      (i) If November 14 falls on a federal or state holiday or weekend, the due date is the first working day after November 14.

      (ii) A provider whose cost report is not received by the due date is ineligible for PHP-CCP payment for the federal fiscal year.

    (C) HHSC reserves the right to request a corrective action plan (CAP) from providers who submit incorrect cost reports or bill incorrectly. PHP-CCP payments will be withheld until the CAP is accepted by the HHSC.

    (D) Costs for care delivered to persons who are incarcerated at the time of the care must be excluded from the cost report.

    (E) Costs for care delivered as part of an Institution of Mental Disease (IMD) must be excluded from the cost report. If a provider includes costs for Crisis Stabilization Units on their cost report, and the unit is later determined by CMS to be an IMD, associated PHP-CCP payments are subject to recoupment.

  (4) Certification. The provider must certify, on a form prescribed by HHSC, that no part of any PHP-CCP payment will be used to pay a contingent fee and that the entity's agreement with a billing entity or cost report preparer does not use a reimbursement methodology that contains any type of incentive, directly or indirectly, for inappropriately inflating, in any way, claims billed to the Medicaid program, including the provider's PHP-CCP funds. The certification must be received by HHSC with the enrollment application described in paragraph (3) of this subsection.

(d) Source of funding. The non-federal share of funding for payments under this section is limited to certified public expenditures from governmental entities.

(e) Payment frequency. HHSC will distribute uncompensated care payments on a schedule to be determined by HHSC and posted on HHSC's website.

(f) Calculation of supplemental payment.

  (1) Supplemental payment. A qualifying provider may be eligible to receive a supplemental payment equal to a percentage of its Medicaid shortfall and uncompensated care costs for the cost reporting period.

  (2) Funding limitations. Payments made under this section are limited by the amount of funds allocated to the total program value for the demonstration year. If payments for uncompensated care for the provider pool attributable to a demonstration year are expected to exceed the amount of funds allocated to that pool by HHSC for that demonstration year, HHSC will reduce payments to providers in the pool by the same percentage as required to remain within the pool allocation amount.

(g) Recoupment.

  (1) Overpayment or disallowance. In the event of an overpayment identified by HHSC or a disallowance by CMS of federal financial participation related to a provider's receipt or use of payments under this section, HHSC may recoup an amount equivalent to the amount of the overpayment or disallowance.

  (2) Adjustments. Payments under this section may be subject to adjustment for payments made in error, including, without limitation, adjustments under §371.1711 of this title (relating to Recoupment of Overpayments and Debts), 42 CFR Part 455, and Texas Government Code Chapter 403. HHSC may recoup an amount equivalent to any such adjustment.

  (3) Recoupment method. HHSC may recoup from any current or future Medicaid payments as follows:

    (A) HHSC will recoup from the provider against which any overpayment was made, or disallowance was directed.

    (B) If, within 30 days of the provider's receipt of HHSC's written notice of recoupment, the provider has not paid the full amount of the recoupment or entered into a written agreement with HHSC to do so, HHSC may withhold any or all future Medicaid payments from the provider until HHSC has recovered an amount equal to the amount overpaid or disallowed. Electronic notice and electronic agreement may be used as alternative options at HHSC's discretion.

(h) Changes in operation. If an enrolled provider closes voluntarily or ceases to provide Medicaid services, the provider must notify the HHSC Provider Finance Department by hand delivery, United States (U.S.) mail, or special mail delivery within 10 business days of closing or ceasing to provide Medicaid services. Notification is considered to have occurred when the HHSC Provider Finance Department receives the notice.

(i) General information. In addition to the requirements of this section, the cost reporting guidelines will be governed by §355.101 of this chapter (relating to Introduction); §355.102 of this chapter (relating to General Principles of Allowable and Unallowable Costs); §355.103 of this chapter (relating to Specifications for Allowable and Unallowable Costs); §355.104 of this chapter (relating to Revenues); §355.105 of this chapter (relating to General Reporting and Documentation Requirements, Methods, and Procedures); §355.106 of this chapter (relating to Basic Objectives and Criteria for Audit and Desk Review of Cost Reports); §355.107 of this chapter (relating to Notification of Exclusions and Adjustments); §355.108 of this chapter (relating to Determination of Inflation Indices); §355.109 of this chapter (relating to Adjusting Reimbursement When New Legislation, Regulations, or Economic Factors Affect Costs); and §355.110 of this chapter (relating to Informal Reviews and Formal Appeals).

Source Note: The provisions of this §355.8215 adopted to be effective July 1, 2021, 46 TexReg 3869

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page