<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 1ADMINISTRATION
PART 2TEXAS ETHICS COMMISSION
CHAPTER 12SWORN COMPLAINTS
SUBCHAPTER DPRELIMINARY REVIEW HEARING
RULE §12.84Notice of Preliminary Review Hearing

(a) Commission staff shall provide notice of a preliminary review hearing to a respondent and complainant at least 45 days before the date of the hearing and must include:

  (1) the date, time, place, and nature of the hearing;

  (2) a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held;

  (3) a reference to the particular sections of the statutes and rules involved; and

  (4) a short and plain statement of the factual matters asserted.

(b) Commission staff shall provide to a respondent at least 30 days before the date of the hearing:

  (1) a list of proposed witnesses to be called at the hearing and a brief statement as to the nature of the testimony expected to be given by each witness to be called at the hearing; and

  (2) copies of all documents expected to be used or introduced as exhibits at the hearing.

(c) The respondent shall provide to commission staff the contents described by subsections (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this section. The contents must be received by commission staff at least 14 days before the date of the hearing. If a respondent or commission staff fail to comply with this section, the commission may reschedule the hearing or proceed with the hearing and exclude at the hearing evidence, documents, and testimony provided by the respondent or commission staff, as applicable, but such failure may be excused upon a showing of good cause.


Source Note: The provisions of this §12.84 adopted to be effective February 28, 2018, 43 TexReg 1044

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page