<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 16ECONOMIC REGULATION
PART 1RAILROAD COMMISSION OF TEXAS
CHAPTER 14REGULATIONS FOR LIQUEFIED NATURAL GAS (LNG)
SUBCHAPTER AGENERAL APPLICABILITY AND REQUIREMENTS
RULE §14.2049Report of LNG Incident/Accident

(a) If an incident or accident occurs during transport, as a result of a pullaway, or where LNG is or is suspected to be the cause, the licensee or nonlicensee owning, operating, or servicing the installation shall notify LP-Gas Operations by telephone within two hours of discovery after the licensee or nonlicensee has knowledge of the incident or accident if any of the following occurs:

  (1) a spill of 25 gallons or more of LNG;

  (2) property damage of $1,000 or greater; or

  (3) an injury requiring transport to a medical facility.

(b) Any transport unit required to be registered with LP-Gas Operations in accordance with §14.2704 of this title (relating to Registration and Transfer of LNG Transports) which is involved in an accident where there is damage to the tank, piping appurtenances, or any release of LNG resulting from the accident shall be reported to LP-Gas Operations, regardless of the accident location. Any LNG-powered motor vehicle used for school transportation or mass transit, including any state-owned vehicle, which is involved in an accident resulting in a release of LNG or damage to LNG equipment shall be reported to LP-Gas Operations, regardless of the accident location.

(c) The telephone notification required by this section shall be made to the Railroad Commission's 24-hour emergency line at (512) 463-6788 and shall include the following information:

  (1) the date and time of the incident or accident;

  (2) type of structure or equipment involved;

  (3) resident's or operator's name;

  (4) physical location;

  (5) number and type of injuries or fatalities;

  (6) whether fire, explosion, or leak has occurred;

  (7) whether LNG is currently leaking; and

  (8) whether immediate assistance from LP-Gas Operations is requested.

(d) The individual making the telephone notification shall leave his or her name and telephone number.

(e) Following the initial telephone report of any of the incidents or accidents described in this section, the licensee shall file LNG Form 2020 with LP-Gas Operations. The form shall be postmarked within 14 calendar days of the date of initial notification to LP-Gas Operations.


Source Note: The provisions of this §14.2049 adopted to be effective May 26, 2003, 28 TexReg 4100; amended to be effective June 5, 2006, 31 TexReg 4607; amended to be effective December 24, 2012, 37 TexReg 9921

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page