|(a) This section does not apply to persons certified
by the Texas Medical Board under the Medical Radiologic Technologist
Certification Act who are Non-Certified Technicians (NCTs), Certified
Medical Radiologic Technologists (MRTs) or Limited Medical Radiologic
(b) It is the practitioner's responsibility to ensure
that all individuals wishing to perform podiatric radiological procedures
are properly trained and apply for registration with the department
as a podiatric medical radiological technician.
(c) Podiatric equipment training course providers,
and standards for curricula and instructors must be approved by the
(d) Podiatric medical radiological technician applicants
(1) be 18 years of age or older;
(2) successfully complete the following 20 hours of
clinical and didactic training requirements and provide proof of completion
to the department:
(A) 5 class hours and 5 out of class hours of radiation
safety and protection for the patient, self, and others;
(B) 1 class and 2 out of class hours of radiographic
equipment used in podiatric medicine, including safety standards,
operation, and maintenance;
(C) 1 class and 4 out of class hours in podiatric radiologic
procedures, imaging production and evaluation; and
(D) 1 class and 1 out of class hour in methods of patient
care and management essential to radiologic procedures, excluding
CPR, BCLS, ACLS and similar subjects; and
(3) submit a department-approved application.
(e) Out of classroom training hours must be verified
by a supervising podiatrist and require the student to maintain a
log demonstrating the successful production of 60 x-rays in the clinical
setting overseen and signed by the supervising podiatrist.
(f) A podiatric medical radiological technician must
hold a registration and may perform only podiatric radiological procedures.
(g) A podiatric medical radiological technician registrant
shall perform radiological procedures only under the supervision of
a practitioner physically present on the premises.
(h) A podiatric medical radiological technician registrant
shall not perform any dangerous or hazardous procedures as identified
by the Texas Medical Board.
(i) All registrants must comply with the safety rules
of the Texas Department of State Health Services, Radiation Control
Program relating to the control of radiation.
(j) Registration is valid for one year and must be
renewed annually by submitting a department-approved application.
For each registration renewal on or after September 1, 2020, a radiological
technician must complete the human trafficking prevention training
required under Occupations Code, Chapter 116, and provide proof of
completion as prescribed by the department.
(k) Registrants shall inform the department of any
address change or change of supervising podiatric physician within
two (2) weeks.
(l) The department may refuse to issue or renew a registration
to an applicant or a podiatric medical radiological technician who:
(1) violates the Podiatric Medical Practice Act, the
Rules, an order of the executive director or commission previously
entered in a disciplinary proceeding, or an order to comply with a
subpoena issued by the department;
(2) violates the Medical Radiologic Technologist Certification
Act, or the Rules promulgated by the Texas Medical Board;
(3) violates the Rules of the Texas Department of State
Health Services for Control of Radiation;
(4) obtains, attempts to obtain, or uses a registration
by bribery or fraud;
(5) engages in unprofessional conduct, including but
not limited to, conviction of a crime or commission of any act that
is in violation of the laws of the State of Texas if the act is connected
with provision of health care;
(6) develops or has an incapacity that prevents the
practice of podiatric medical radiological technician with reasonable
skill, competence, and safety to the public as a result of:
(A) an illness;
(B) drug or alcohol dependency; or habitual use of
drug or intoxicating liquors; or
(C) another physical or mental condition;
(7) fails to practice in an acceptable manner consistent
with public health and welfare;
(8) has disciplinary action taken against a radiological
certification, permit, or registration in another state, or by another
(9) engages in acts requiring registration under these
rules without a current registration from the department;
(10) has had a registration revoked, suspended, or
has received disciplinary action.
(m) The commission, executive director, or department,
as appropriate, may suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew the
registration upon finding that a podiatric medical radiological technician
has committed any offense listed in this section.