<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 19EDUCATION
PART 2TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY
CHAPTER 89ADAPTATIONS FOR SPECIAL POPULATIONS
SUBCHAPTER AACOMMISSIONER'S RULES CONCERNING SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES
DIVISION 2CLARIFICATION OF PROVISIONS IN FEDERAL REGULATIONS AND STATE LAW
RULE §89.1049Parental Rights Regarding Adult Students

(a) In accordance with 34 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), §300.320(c) and §300.520, and Texas Education Code (TEC), §29.017, beginning at least one year before a student reaches 18 years of age, the student's individualized education program (IEP) must include a statement that the student has been informed that, unless the student's parent or other individual has been granted guardianship of the student under the Probate Code, Chapter XIII, Guardianship, all rights granted to the parent under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Part B, other than the right to receive any notice required under IDEA, Part B, will transfer to the student upon reaching age 18. Beginning with the 2018-2019 school year, the IEP must also state that the student has been provided information and resources regarding guardianship, alternatives to guardianship, including a supported decision-making agreement under Texas Estates Code, Chapter 1357, and other supports and services that may enable the student to live independently. After the student reaches the age of 18, except as provided by subsection (b) of this section, the school district shall provide any notice required under IDEA, Part B, to both the adult student and the parent.

(b) In accordance with 34 CFR, §300.520(a)(2), and TEC, §29.017(a), all rights accorded to a parent under IDEA, Part B, including the right to receive any notice required by IDEA, Part B, will transfer to an 18-year-old student who is incarcerated in an adult or juvenile state or local correctional institution, unless the student's parent or other individual has been granted guardianship of the student under Texas Estates Code, Title 3.

(c) In accordance with 34 CFR, §300.520(a)(3), a school district must notify in writing the adult student and parent of the transfer of parental rights, as described in subsections (a) and (b) of this section, at the time the student reaches the age of 18. This notification is separate and distinct from the requirement that the student's IEP include a statement relating to the transfer of parental rights beginning at least one year before the student reaches the age of 18. This notification is not required to contain the elements of notice referenced in 34 CFR, §300.503, but must include a statement that parental rights have transferred to the adult student. Beginning with the 2018-2019 school year, the notice must also include information and resources regarding guardianship, alternatives to guardianship, including a supported decision-making agreement under Texas Estates Code, Chapter 1357, and other supports and services that may enable the student to live independently, and must provide contact information for the parties to use in obtaining additional information.

(d) A notice under IDEA, Part B, which is required to be given to an adult student and parent does not create a right for the parent to consent to or participate in the proposal or refusal to which the notice relates. For example, a notice of an admission, review, and dismissal (ARD) committee meeting does not constitute invitation to, or create a right for, the parent to attend the meeting. However, in accordance with 34 CFR, §300.321(a)(6), the adult student or the school district may invite individuals who have knowledge or special expertise regarding the student, including the parent.

(e) Nothing in this section prohibits a supported decision-making agreement or a valid power of attorney from being executed by an individual who holds rights under IDEA, Part B.


Source Note: The provisions of this §89.1049 adopted to be effective April 18, 2002, 27 TexReg 3061; amended to be effective November 11, 2007, 32 TexReg 8129; amended to be effective February 15, 2018, 43 TexReg 763

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page