<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 19EDUCATION
PART 7STATE BOARD FOR EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION
CHAPTER 232GENERAL CERTIFICATION PROVISIONS
SUBCHAPTER ACERTIFICATE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
RULE §232.11Number and Content of Required Continuing Professional Education Hours

(a) The appropriate number of clock-hours of continuing professional education (CPE) must be completed during each five-year renewal period.

(b) One semester credit hour earned at an accredited institution of higher education is equivalent to 15 CPE clock-hours.

(c) Required Content. Other than hours earned to comply with subsections (d), (e), (f), (g), and (k) of this section, professional development activities shall be related to the certificate(s) being renewed and focus on the standards required for issuance of the certificate(s), including:

  (1) content area knowledge and skills; and

  (2) professional ethics and standards of conduct.

(d) Classroom Teacher.

  (1) Classroom teacher certificate holders shall complete 150 clock-hours.

  (2) A classroom teacher must attain at least 37.5 hours of CPE that includes training directly related to each of the following topics and may include two or more listed topics combined:

    (A) collecting and analyzing information that will improve effectiveness in the classroom;

    (B) recognizing early warning indicators that a student may be at risk of dropping out of school;

    (C) digital learning, digital teaching, and integrating technology into classroom instruction;

    (D) educating diverse student populations, including:

      (i) students who are eligible to participate in special education programs under Texas Education Code (TEC), Chapter 29, Subchapter A;

      (ii) students who are eligible to receive educational services required under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 504 (29 United States Code (USC), Section 794);

      (iii) students with mental health conditions or who engage in substance abuse;

      (iv) students with intellectual or developmental disabilities;

      (v) students who are educationally disadvantaged;

      (vi) students of limited English proficiency; and

      (vii) students at risk of dropping out of school;

    (E) understanding appropriate relationships, boundaries, and communications between educators and students; and

    (F) how mental health conditions, including grief and trauma, affect student learning and behavior and how evidence-based, grief-informed, and trauma-informed strategies support the academic success of students affected by grief and trauma. The instruction must:

      (i) comply with the training required by TEC, §38.036(c)(1); and

      (ii) be approved by the commissioner of education.

(e) Principal and Principal as Instructional Leader.

  (1) Principal and Principal as Instructional Leader certificate holders shall complete 200 clock-hours.

  (2) A principal and principal as instructional leader must attain at least 50 hours of CPE that include training directly related to each of the following topics:

    (A) effective and efficient management, including:

      (i) collecting and analyzing information;

      (ii) making decisions and managing time; and

      (iii) supervising student discipline and managing behavior;

    (B) recognizing early warning indicators that a student may be at risk of dropping out of school;

    (C) digital learning, digital teaching, and integrating technology into campus curriculum and instruction;

    (D) effective implementation of the Texas Model for Comprehensive School Counseling Programs under TEC, §33.005;

    (E) mental health programs addressing a mental health condition;

    (F) educating diverse student populations, including:

      (i) students who are eligible to participate in special education programs under TEC, Chapter 29, Subchapter A;

      (ii) students with intellectual or developmental disabilities;

      (iii) students who are eligible to receive educational services required under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 504 (29 USC, Section 794);

      (iv) students with mental health conditions or who engage in substance abuse;

      (v) students who are educationally disadvantaged;

      (vi) students of limited English proficiency; and

      (vii) students at risk of dropping out of school;

    (G) preventing, recognizing, and reporting any sexual conduct between an educator and student that is prohibited under Texas Penal Code, §21.12, or for which reporting is required under TEC, §21.006; and

    (H) how mental health conditions, including grief and trauma, affect student learning and behavior and how evidence-based, grief-informed, and trauma-informed strategies support the academic success of students affected by grief and trauma. The instruction must be:

      (i) based on relevant best practice-based programs and research-based practices; and

      (ii) approved by the commissioner, in consultation with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

(f) School Counselor.

  (1) School Counselor certificate holders shall complete 200 clock-hours.

  (2) A school counselor must attain at least 50 hours of CPE that include training directly related to each of the following topics:

    (A) assisting students in developing high school graduation plans;

    (B) implementing dropout prevention strategies;

    (C) informing students concerning:

      (i) college admissions, including college financial aid resources and application procedures; and

      (ii) career opportunities;

    (D) counseling students concerning mental health conditions and substance abuse, including through the use of grief-informed and trauma-informed interventions and crisis management and suicide prevention strategies; and

    (E) effective implementation of the Texas Model for Comprehensive School Counseling Programs under TEC, §33.005.

(g) Superintendent.

  (1) Superintendent certificate holders shall complete 200 clock-hours.

  (2) An individual who holds a superintendent certificate that is renewed on or after January 1, 2021, must complete at least 2.5 hours of training every five years on identifying and reporting potential victims of sexual abuse, human trafficking, and other maltreatment of children, in accordance with TEC, §21.054(h). For purposes of this subsection, "other maltreatment" has the meaning assigned by Human Resources Code, §42.002.

(h) School Librarian and Learning Resources Specialist certificate holders shall complete 200 clock-hours.

(i) Educational Diagnostician certificate holders shall complete 200 clock-hours.

(j) Reading Specialist certificate holders shall complete 200 clock-hours.

(k) The required CPE for educators who teach students with dyslexia must include training regarding new research and practices in educating students with dyslexia. The required training may be satisfied through an online course approved by Texas Education Agency staff.

(l) Professional development activities may include:

  (1) an evidence-based mental health first aid training program or an evidence-based grief-informed and trauma-informed care program that is offered through a classroom instruction format that requires in-person attendance. A person receiving this training will receive twice the number of hours of instruction provided under that program, not to exceed 16 hours;

  (2) suicide prevention training that meets the guidelines for suicide prevention training approved under the TEC, §21.451;

  (3) an instructional course on the use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) that meets the guidelines for AED training approved under Texas Health and Safety Code, §779.002, in accordance with the TEC, §21.0541; and

  (4) education courses that:

    (A) use technology to increase the educator's digital literacy; and

    (B) assist the educator in the use of digital technology in learning activities that improve teaching, assessment, and instructional practices.

(m) An educator holding multiple classes of certificates shall complete the higher number of required CPE clock-hours in the classes held during each five-year renewal period unless otherwise specified in applicable State Board for Educator Certification rules codified in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 19, Part 7.

(n) An educator eligible to renew multiple classes of certificates issued during the same renewal period may satisfy the requirements for any class of certificate issued for less than the full five-year period by completing a prorated number of the required CPE clock-hours. Educators must complete a minimum of one-fifth of the additional CPE clock-hours for each full calendar year that the additional class of certificate is valid.


Source Note: The provisions of this §232.11 adopted to be effective August 6, 2020, 45 TexReg 5345

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page