<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 21TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS
CHAPTER 463APPLICATIONS AND EXAMINATIONS
RULE §463.2Application Process

Applications for licensure are processed in the following manner:

  (1) An individual must download, or otherwise obtain and complete the application packet for the type of licensure desired from the Board's website. No applicant can have more than one application pending before the Board at one time, unless the second application is to become a licensed specialist in school psychology.

  (2) An applicant submits the completed application form, any other information required by the Board, and the application filing fee. An application which contains an incorrect fee amount or which does not include the information required to be submitted must be returned to the applicant. The responsibility of ensuring a complete application resides with the applicant. The application packet will contain a checklist which should be followed carefully. An incomplete application remains in the active file for 90 days following receipt by the Board, at the end of which time, if still incomplete, it is void. If licensure is sought again, a new application and filing fee must be submitted.

  (3) Applications which contain all required information are reviewed by Board staff, and if necessary the Applications Committee of the Board, to determine if the applicants are eligible to sit for the examinations.

  (4) Once an application is reviewed, the applicant receives a letter from the Board approving or denying the applicant to sit for the examinations. If the letter indicates the applicant is approved, the applicant may then submit an examination application and the appropriate fees for any required examinations.

  (5) After sitting for examination(s), an applicant is informed in writing of the results of the examination(s). An applicant who has passed the examination(s) is informed in writing that the applicant has been licensed.

  (6) If an applicant's application for licensure is denied, the applicant shall have 20 days from the date of denial to submit a written request to the Board for a hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hearings. The Board must receive the written request on or before the 20th day following the date of denial for the request to be timely made. If a timely request is made, the Board shall refer the contested case to the State Office of Administrative Hearings for a hearing. If a timely written request is not made, the denial is final.


Source Note: The provisions of this §463.2 adopted to be effective October 3, 1999, 24 TexReg 8169; amended to be effective February 21, 2002, 27 TexReg 1169; amended to be effective June 12, 2003, 28 TexReg 4557; amended to be effective November 29, 2012, 37 TexReg 9362; amended to be effective June 12, 2013, 38 TexReg 3604

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page