<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §73.1Continuing Education Requirements for Licensees

(a) "Live format" means any education course that is not pre-recorded and is presented in real time through an interactive medium such as a live webinar, an in-person training event, or telephone conference.

(b) "Online course" means any pre-recorded or live format education course that is delivered through the internet.

(c) A licensee may only take up to 10 hours of online courses that are not live format each year.

(d) A licensee shall complete 16 hours of continuing education each year unless a licensee is exempt under subsection (q) of this section.

(e) A licensee's reporting year shall begin on the first day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs.

(f) A licensee shall complete the 16 hours of continuing education through any Board-approved course or seminar elected by the licensee.

(g) A licensee shall attend any course designated as a "Board Required Course" in a live format.

(h) As part of the 16 annual required hours of continuing education, a licensee shall complete a minimum of 4 hours of Board-required courses, which include 3 hours relating to the Board's rules, code of ethics, and documenting.

(i) A licensee shall complete a minimum of 1 hour of the 16 annual required hours on chiropractic practice risk management.

(j) A licensee who was first licensed on or after September 1, 2012, shall complete at least 8 hours of continuing education in coding and documentation for Medicare claims no later than the licensee's second renewal period.

(k) A licensee may count the 8 hours in coding and documentation for Medicare claims as part of the 16 continuing education hours required during the year in which the 8 hours were completed.

(l) If a licensee is unable to take an online course, the licensee shall submit a request to the Board for special accommodations.

(m) At the Board's request, a licensee shall submit written verification from each continuing education course sponsor of the licensee's completion of each course used to fulfill the required hours for all years requested.

(n) The Board shall consider the failure to submit verification under subsection (n) of this section as failing to meet continuing education requirements.

(o) The following are exempt from the requirements of this section:

  (1) a licensee who holds an inactive license;

  (2) a licensee who is a military member, veteran, or military spouse during part of the 12 months immediately preceding the annual license renewal date;

  (3) a licensee who submits satisfactory proof that the licensee suffered an illness or disability which prevented the licensee from complying with this section during the 12 months immediately preceding the annual license renewal date; or

  (4) a licensee who is in their first renewal period.

(p) A licensee who is a member of the military is entitled to two years of additional time to complete any continuing education requirements and any other requirement related to license renewal.

(q) A licensee who also holds a Board-issued permit to perform specialized techniques or procedures shall complete any continuing education required by the Board to obtain and maintain the permit.

(r) The Board shall make available a list of approved courses on the Board's website.

Source Note: The provisions of this §73.1 adopted to be effective June 30, 2020, 45 TexReg 4026

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page