<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 30TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS
CHAPTER 681PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS
SUBCHAPTER CAPPLICATION AND LICENSING
RULE §681.73Application for Art Therapy Specialty Designation

(a) A person applying for licensure with an art therapy specialty designation must:

  (1) meet the requirements for an LPC license set out in this chapter;

  (2) hold either:

    (A) a master's or doctoral degree in art therapy that includes 700 hours of supervised practicum from an accredited school; or

    (B) all of the following:

      (i) a master's degree in a counseling-related field;

      (ii) a minimum of 21 semester hours or the equivalent of sequential course work in the history, theory, and practice of art therapy;

      (iii) 700 hours of supervised practicum from an accredited school;

  (3) have the experience requirements set out in subsection (c) of this section; and

  (4) submit documentation of successful completion of the Certification Examination in Art Therapy of the Art Therapy Credentials Board.

(b) The Council will accept an individual course from an art therapy program accredited through the American Art Therapy Association as satisfying the education requirements set out in §681.82 of this title (relating to Academic Requirements) if not less than 75% of the course content is substantially equivalent to the content of a course required in §681.83 of this title (relating to Academic Course Content).

(c) As part of the supervised experience requirements for art therapy specialty designation under the Act, §503.303, an applicant must fulfill the requirements of §§681.91-681.93 of this title and must have the following:

  (1) 1,500 client contact hours under supervision of a licensed professional counselor with an art therapy specialty designation, if the applicant holds a master's or doctoral degree in art therapy that includes 700 hours of practicum; or

  (2) 2,000 client contact hours under supervision of a licensed professional counselor with an art therapy specialty designation, if the applicant holds a master's degree in counseling or a counseling related field and has a minimum of 21 semester hours or the equivalent of sequential course work in the history, theory, and practice of art therapy with 700 hours practicum.


Source Note: The provisions of this §681.73 adopted to be effective November 19, 2020, 45 TexReg 8143

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page