<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 34TEXAS STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORKER EXAMINERS
CHAPTER 781SOCIAL WORKER LICENSURE
SUBCHAPTER CAPPLICATION AND LICENSING
RULE §781.401Qualifications for Licensure

(a) Licensure. The following education and experience is required for licensure as designated. If an applicant for a license has held a substantially equivalent license in good standing in another jurisdiction for one year immediately preceding the date of application, the applicant will be deemed to have met the experience requirement under this chapter.

  (1) Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW).

    (A) Has been conferred a master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited social work program, or a doctoral degree in social work from an accredited institution of higher learning acceptable to the Council, and has documentation in the form of a university transcript of successfully completing a field placement in social work.

    (B) Has had 3000 hours of supervised professional clinical experience over a period of 24 to 48 months, or its equivalent if the experience was completed in another jurisdiction. Supervised professional experience must comply with §781.404 of this title (relating to Recognition as a Council-approved Supervisor and the Supervision Process) and all other applicable laws and rules.

    (C) Has had a minimum of 100 hours of supervision, over the course of the 3000 hours of experience, with a Council-approved supervisor. Supervised experience must have occurred within the five calendar years immediately preceding the date of LCSW application. If the social worker completed supervision in another jurisdiction, the social worker shall have the supervision verified by the regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction. If such verification is impossible, the social worker may request that the Council accept alternate verification of supervision.

    (D) Has passed the Clinical examination administered nationally by ASWB.

  (2) Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW).

    (A) Has been conferred a master's degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited social work program, or a doctoral degree in social work from an accredited university acceptable to the Council, and has documentation in the form of a university transcript of successfully completing a field placement in social work.

    (B) Has passed the Master's examination administered nationally by ASWB.

  (3) Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW).

    (A) Has been conferred a baccalaureate degree in social work from a CSWE accredited social work program.

    (B) Has passed the Bachelors examination administered nationally by ASWB.

(b) Specialty Recognition. The following education and experience is required for specialty recognitions.

  (1) Licensed Master Social Worker-Advanced Practitioner (LMSW-AP).

    (A) Is currently licensed in the State of Texas or meets the current requirements for licensure as an LMSW.

    (B) While fully licensed as a social worker, has had 3000 hours of supervised professional non-clinical social work experience over a period of 24 to 48 months, or its equivalent if the experience was completed in another jurisdiction. Supervised professional experience must comply with §781.404 of this title and all other applicable laws and rules.

    (C) Has had a minimum of 100 hours of supervision, over the course of the 3000 hours of experience, with a Council-approved supervisor. Supervised experience must have occurred within the five calendar years immediately preceding the date of LMSW-AP application. If supervision was completed in another jurisdiction, the social worker must have the supervision verified by the regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction. If such verification is impossible, the social worker may request that the Council accept alternate verification of supervision.

    (D) Has passed the Advanced Generalist examination administered nationally by the ASWB.

  (2) Independent Non-clinical Practice.

    (A) Is currently licensed in the State of Texas as an LBSW or LMSW.

    (B) While fully licensed as a social worker has had 3000 hours of supervised full-time social work experience over a minimum two-year period, but within a maximum five-year period or its equivalent if the experience was completed in another state. Supervised professional experience must comply with §781.404 of this title and all other applicable laws and rules.

    (C) Has had a minimum of 100 hours of supervision, over the course of the 3000 hours of experience, with a Council-approved supervisor. Supervised experience must have occurred within the 5 calendar years immediately preceding the date of application for IPR specialty recognition. If supervision was completed in another jurisdiction, the social worker shall have the supervision verified by the regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction. If such verification is impossible, the social worker may request that the Council accept alternate verification.

(c) Applicants for a license must complete the Council's jurisprudence examination and submit proof of completion at the time of application.


Source Note: The provisions of this §781.401 adopted to be effective November 19, 2020, 45 TexReg 8161; amended to be effective February 4, 2021, 46 TexReg 816

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page