<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 34TEXAS STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORKER EXAMINERS
CHAPTER 781SOCIAL WORKER LICENSURE
SUBCHAPTER ELICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION
RULE §781.505Inactive Status

(a) A licensee who does not wish to practice social work in the State of Texas and whose license has not expired may request the board to grant inactive status anytime before the license expires. If a licensee requests conversion to inactive status within 45 days of the expiration date for the license, the individual must provide verification of completion of all continuing education requirements for the renewal.

(b) No continuing education is required of a licensee while on inactive status.

(c) The inactive status conversion fee and any applicable renewal fee and penalty fee for late renewal must be paid prior to the date the license expires.

(d) A licensee on inactive status must renew the inactive license and pay all applicable inactive renewal fees throughout the duration of the inactive status. A licensee on inactive status who fails to remit the biennial inactive status renewal fee or who otherwise fails to renew the inactive license timely ceases to be licensed and must reapply for licensure and meet all current minimum requirements for licensure in place at the time of submission of the new application for licensure.

(e) A license, if appropriately converted and renewed as inactive, may be on inactive status for no more than 48 consecutive months or for no more than 96 months total in a lifetime. There must be a minimum of 48 months of active licensure before subsequent inactive status may be requested and granted.

(f) A licensee on inactive status must notify the board in writing to reactivate the license, provide proof of completion of the Jurisprudence Exam completed within six months of the date of requesting reactivation of the license, and pay the conversion fee for inactive to active status. The reactivated license status shall begin seven days after the board receives the licensee's reactivation fee.


Source Note: The provisions of this §781.505 adopted to be effective January 27, 2011, 36 TexReg 242; amended to be effective March 28, 2013, 38 TexReg 1977

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page