<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 34TEXAS STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORKER EXAMINERS
CHAPTER 781SOCIAL WORKER LICENSURE
SUBCHAPTER ELICENSE RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION
RULE §781.506Emeritus Status

(a) A licensee who is at least 60 years of age or disabled, and who is not engaged in professional social work practice, may request emeritus status in writing to the board. An emeritus license must be renewed every two years but requires no renewal fee or continuing education.

(b) The emeritus licensee may only use his or her emeritus title while providing social work services as a volunteer without compensation. The emeritus licensee who volunteers social worker services is under the board's jurisdiction and must comply with the Code of Conduct and Professional Standards of Practice, as well as the Act and the rule requirements in this chapter.

(c) An emeritus licensee whose license is in good standing can be reinstated to an active license within 48 months of conversion to emeritus status. To be eligible for an active license through reinstatement of an emeritus license, the emeritus licensee shall submit an application for licensure at the appropriate category, as well as proof of completion of the Jurisprudence Exam within six months prior to requesting reactivation, and payment of the licensing fee. Verification of education, supervision, and examination score is not required.

(d) An emeritus licensee who reactivates his/her license within 48 months of conversion to emeritus status may not regain board-approved supervisor status upon activation without verification of completion of minimum requirements as a board-approved supervisor in place at the time of reactivation. An emeritus licensee who reactivates his/her license within 48 months may regain other specialty recognition(s) without demonstration of meeting current minimum requirements for that specialty recognition.

(e) An emeritus licensee who does not reactivate his/her license within 48 months of conversion to emeritus status may not convert the license to active status except as follows. An emeritus licensee who did not reactivate his/her license within 48 months of conversion must reapply for active licensure and meet all current minimum requirements for licensure, specialty recognition, and board-approved supervisor status in place at the time of application. If all current minimum requirements for licensure are met, upon issuance of a new license and license number, the emeritus license will be null and void.

(f) A licensee who converts to emeritus status may only reactivate the license to active status once per lifetime.


Source Note: The provisions of this §781.506 adopted to be effective January 27, 2011, 36 TexReg 242; amended to be effective March 28, 2013, 38 TexReg 1977

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page