<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 22EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 35TEXAS STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS
CHAPTER 801LICENSURE AND REGULATION OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS
SUBCHAPTER DSCHEDULE OF SANCTIONS
RULE §801.302Severity Level and Sanction Guide

The following severity levels and sanction guides are based on the relevant factors in council rules, 22 Texas Administrative Code, §884.20 (relating to Disciplinary Guidelines and General Schedule of Sanctions).

  (1) Level One--Revocation of license with a possible administrative penalty from $500 to $5,000. These violations evidence intentional or gross misconduct on the part of the licensee or cause or pose a high degree of harm to the public or may require severe punishment as a deterrent to the licensee, or other licensees.

  (2) Level Two--Extended suspension of license with a possible administrative penalty from $250 to $2,500. These violations involve less misconduct, harm, or need for deterrence than Level One violations, but may require termination of licensure for a period of not less than one year.

  (3) Level Three--Moderate suspension of license with a possible administrative penalty of no more than $250. These violations are less serious than Level Two violations, but may require termination of licensure for a period of time that is less than a year.

  (4) Level Four--Probated suspension of licensure. These violations do not involve enough harm, misconduct, or need for deterrence to warrant termination of licensure, yet are severe enough to warrant monitoring of the licensee to ensure future compliance. Probationary terms may be ordered as appropriate.

  (5) Level Five--Reprimand. These violations involve inadvertent or relatively minor misconduct or rule violations not directly involving the health, safety and welfare of the public.

  (6) An administrative penalty may be assessed for any violation, in lieu of, or in addition to, other disciplinary actions.


Source Note: The provisions of this §801.302 adopted to be effective October 5, 2020, 45 TexReg 7031

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page