|(a) General. This section sets out the minimum standards
for board approval of mandatory non-certified technician training
programs, as required by the Act, §601.201, which are intended
to train individuals to perform radiologic procedures which have not
been identified as dangerous or hazardous. Non-certified technicians
are distinct from individuals performing a radiologic procedure under
hardship exemption granted under §194.16 of this chapter (relating
to Hardship Exemptions).
(b) Training Requirements. In order to successfully
complete a program, each student must complete the following minimum
(1) courses which are fundamental to diagnostic radiologic
(A) radiation safety and protection for the patient,
self and others--22 classroom hours;
(B) image production and evaluation--24 classroom hours;
(C) radiographic equipment maintenance and operation--16
classroom hours which includes at least 6 hours of quality control,
darkroom, processing, and Texas Regulations for Control of Radiation;
(2) one or more of the following units of applied human
anatomy and radiologic procedures of the:
(A) skull (5 views: Caldwell, Townes, Waters, AP/PA,
and lateral)--10 classroom hours;
(B) chest--8 classroom hours;
(C) spine--8 classroom hours;
(D) abdomen, not including any procedures utilizing
contrast media--4 classroom hours;
(E) upper extremities--14 classroom hours;
(F) lower extremities--14 classroom hours; and/or
(G) podiatric--5 classroom hours.
(3) Live, In-Person Instructor Direction Required.
All hours of the training program completed for the purposes of this
section must be live, in-person, and directed by an approved instructor.
No credit will be given for training completed by self-directed study,
remote learning, or correspondence.
(c) Application Procedures and Eligibility Requirements
for Training Programs. An application shall be submitted to the board
at least 30 days prior to the starting date of the training program.
(1) Application shall be made by the program director
on official forms available from the board.
(2) The application must be notarized and shall be
accompanied by the following items:
(A) the application fee, in accordance with Chapter
175 of this title (relating to Fees and Penalties); and
(B) an agreement to allow the board to conduct an administrative
audit of the program to determine compliance with this section.
(d) Training Program Application Materials. The application
shall include, at a minimum:
(1) the beginning date and the anticipated length of
the training program;
(2) the number of programs which will be conducted
concurrently and whether programs will be conducted consecutively;
(3) the number of students anticipated in each program;
(4) the daily hours of operation;
(5) the location, mailing address, phone and facsimile
numbers of the program;
(6) the name of the training program director;
(7) a list of the names of the approved instructors
and the topics each will teach;
(8) clearly defined and written policies regarding
the criteria for admission, discharge, readmission and completion
of the program;
(9) evidence of a structured pre-planned learning experience
with specific outcomes;
(10) a letter or other documentation from the Texas
Workforce Commission, Career Schools and Colleges Section indicating
that the proposed training program has complied with or has been granted
exempt status under Texas Education Code, Chapter 132. If approval
has been granted by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board,
a letter or other documentation is not necessary; and
(11) specific written agreements to:
(A) provide the training as set out in subsection (b)
of this section and provide not more than 75 students per instructor
in the classroom;
(B) advise students that they are prohibited from performing
radiologic procedures which have been identified as dangerous or hazardous
in accordance with §194.17 of this chapter (relating to Dangerous
or Hazardous Procedures) unless they become an LMRT, MRT or a practitioner;
(C) use written and oral examinations to periodically
measure student progress;
(D) keep an accurate record of each student's attendance
and participation in the program, accurate evaluation instruments
and grades for not less than five years. Such records shall be made
available upon request by the board or any governmental agency having
(E) issue to each student who successfully completes
the program a certificate or written statement including the name
of the student, name of the program, dates of attendance and the types
of radiologic procedures covered in the program completed by the student;
(F) retain an accurate copy for not less than five
years and submit an accurate copy of the document described in subparagraph
(E) of this paragraph to the board within 30 days of the issuance
of the document to the student; and
(G) permit site inspections by employees or representatives
of the board to determine compliance with this section.
(e) Application Procedures and Eligibility Requirements
(1) Except as otherwise provided, all persons who will
provide instruction and training in an approved program under this
section must obtain approval by the board prior to initiating instruction
(2) To obtain board approval, all individual(s) must
at a minimum:
(A) submit an application on a form prescribed by the
(B) pay the required application fee, as set forth
under Chapter 175 of this title;
(C) successfully complete an education program in accordance
with §194.12 of this chapter and not less than six months classroom
or clinical experience teaching the subjects assigned; and
(D) have at least one or more of the following qualifications:
(i) be a currently certified MRT who is also currently
credentialed as a radiographer by the American Registry of Radiologic
(ii) be a currently certified LMRT (excluding a temporary
certificate) whose limited certificate category(ies) matches the category(ies)
of instruction and training; and/or
(iii) be a practitioner who is in good standing with
all appropriate regulatory agencies, and is not the subject of any
disciplinary order; and
(E) submit to the board any other information the board
considers necessary to evaluate the applicant's qualifications.
(f) Procedure for Approval or Denial.
(1) Review by the Executive Director.
(A) The executive director or designee shall review
applications for approval and may determine whether an applying program
or instructor is eligible for approval, or refer an application to
the Education Committee of the board for review.
(B) If the executive director or designee determines
that the applying program or instructor clearly meets all approval
requirements, the executive director or designee may approve the applicant,
to be effective on the date issued without formal board approval.
(C) If the executive director determines that the applying
program or instructor does not clearly meet all approval requirements
prescribed by the Act and this chapter, approval may be issued only
upon action by the board following a recommendation by the Education
Committee. The Education Committee may recommend to grant or deny
the approval request.
(2) Reconsideration of Denials.
(A) Determinations to deny approval of a program or
instructor may be reconsidered by the Education Committee or the board
based on additional information concerning the applying program or
instructor and upon a showing of good cause for reconsideration.
(B) A decision to reconsider a denial determination
shall be a discretionary decision by the Education Committee, based
on consideration of the additional information. Requests for reconsideration
shall be made in writing by the applying program director or instructor.
(1) Training Program.
(A) The training program director shall be responsible
for renewing the approval of the training program.
(B) The program director must apply for renewal of
program approval every three years by submitting the required form
and documents and by paying the required renewal fee to the board
on or before the expiration date of the approval.
(C) Failure to submit the renewal form and renewal
fee will result in the expiration of the training program's approval.
In the case that the approval is expired, to obtain a new approval,
the training program must reapply and meet all requirements for approval
under this section.
(D) A training program which does not renew the approval
shall cease representing the program as an approved training program.
The program director shall notify currently enrolled students that
the training program is no longer approved under this section. The
notification shall be in writing and must be issued within ten days
of the expiration of the approval.
(A) The instructor must apply for renewal of approval
every three years by submitting the required form and documents and
by paying the required renewal fee to the board on or before the expiration
date of the approval.
(B) Failure to submit the renewal form and renewal
fee will result in the expiration of the instructor's approval. In
the case that the approval is expired, to obtain a new approval, the
instructor must reapply to meet all requirements for approval under
(C) The instructor who does not renew the approval
shall cease representing that he or she is approved by the board to
provide instruction in a non-certified technician training program
(h) Grounds for Denial or Withdrawal of Approval.
(1) Failure of the applying or approved instructor
or training program to comply with the provisions of this chapter
or the Act may be grounds for denial or withdrawal of the approval
of the instructor or the training program.
(2) An approved instructor who holds a limited certificate
may not teach, train, or provide clinical instruction in a portion
of a training program that is different from the limited scope of
certification that is listed on the permit. Providing instruction
that exceeds the instructor's limited scope of practice is grounds
for denial or withdrawal of approval.
(3) In the event that the board receives complaints
against an approved instructor or program, such information shall
be referred to the board's investigation department.
(4) Any material misrepresentation of fact by a program
or instructor in any information required to be submitted to the board
is grounds for denial or withdrawal of approval.
(5) The board may deny or withdraw its approval of
a program or instructor after giving the program or instructor written
notice setting forth its reasons for denial or withdrawal and after
giving the program or instructor a reasonable opportunity to be heard
by the Education Committee of the board.
(i) Change of Program Address. The program director
shall report within 30 days after the event any change of address
for the physical location of the program.