<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §140.404LCDC Licensure Application Standards and Counselor Intern Registration

(a) Every individual seeking LCDC licensure shall apply for registration as a counselor intern and initiate the licensure application process with the department by submitting the following items in a form acceptable to the department:

  (1) the initial LCDC application fee and the background investigation fee;

  (2) the department's current application form that has been completed, signed, dated, and notarized;

  (3) a recent full-face wallet-sized photograph of the applicant;

  (4) two sets of fingerprints completed according to department instructions; and

  (5) documentation that the applicant has successfully completed intern registration requirements in §140.405 of this title (relating to Requirements for Counselor Intern Registration).

(b) A licensure or counselor intern registration applicant shall:

  (1) read the department rules in this subchapter;

  (2) follow all laws and rules, including the ethical standards;

  (3) provide to the department, or give the department permission to request from third parties, any additional information or references needed or requested by the department; and

  (4) notify the department in writing within 30 days of a change in name, address, or telephone number.

(c) Application materials become the property of the department.

(d) No determination will be made on an application unless it is complete.

  (1) Incomplete documents will be returned to the sender. The department will hold the remaining documents, but will not take action on the application until all outstanding documents have been completed as required by the department.

  (2) The application and background fee is not refundable and will not be returned. When resubmitting documents that were returned to the sender as incomplete, a second application fee is not required.

(e) A document may be considered incomplete if it does not conform to the following standards.

  (1) All documents must be complete, signed, and dated. Signatures shall include credentials. If the documentation relates to past activity, the date of the activity shall also be recorded.

  (2) Documentation shall be permanent and legible.

  (3) When it is necessary to correct a document, the error shall be marked through with a single line, dated, and initialed by the writer. Correction fluid shall not be used.

(f) An applicant for CI registration must receive written notice of registration from the department before accumulating any supervised work, holding oneself out as a registered counselor intern, taking the licensure examination, or providing chemical dependency services supervised in accordance with the requirements of this subchapter.

(g) Within 45 days of receipt of the application, the department will notify the applicant that the application is complete or specify the additional information required.

(h) An application shall be voided after one year if the applicant has not provided the additional information necessary to process the application.

(i) By signing the application, the applicant accepts responsibility for remaining knowledgeable of and abiding by the applicable rules of this subchapter, including revisions.

Source Note: The provisions of this §140.404 adopted to be effective September 9, 2008, 33 TexReg 7520; amended to be effective August 9, 2012, 37 TexReg 5788

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page