<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 25HEALTH SERVICES
PART 1DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
CHAPTER 265GENERAL SANITATION
SUBCHAPTER BTEXAS YOUTH CAMPS SAFETY AND HEALTH
RULE §265.23Application and Denial of a New License; Non-transferable

(a) License required. A person shall possess a valid youth camp license prior to operating a youth camp.

  (1) Submitting an application. An application is made by submitting:

    (A) a completed youth camp application;

    (B) an activity schedule showing dates and detailed information about the activities that are conducted both at the camp and at other locations;

    (C) any other requested documents and information; and

    (D) paying the license fee as described in §265.28 of this title (relating to Fees).

  (2) Obtaining an application. A blank application may be obtained by calling the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group at (512) 834-6600 or may be downloaded from the website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm. Applications may be submitted to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group, Department of State Health Services, Mail Code 2003, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347.

  (3) Qualifying for a youth camp license. The department shall issue a license if the facility:

    (A) meets the definition of a "Youth camp" as described in §265.11(25) of this title (relating to Definitions);

    (B) meets the definition of "Youth camp, general characteristics of" in §265.11(27) of this title; and

    (C) is in compliance, or has demonstrated a plan for compliance, with all provisions of the Act and the rules prior to operation as determined by:

      (i) submitting a complete application as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection; and

      (ii) passing a pre-licensing inspection conducted by the department, using the standard youth camp inspection form that may be found at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm.

(b) Processing applications.

  (1) Applications for a new license issued under this chapter shall be submitted to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group at least 90 calendar days prior to camp operation.

  (2) The department shall issue the new license or a written notice that the application is complete or that the application is deficient within the following periods of time. The department shall identify deficiencies in the notice, provide a deadline by which the deficiencies shall be corrected, and inform the applicant of the need for a pre-licensing inspection. Deficiencies may include the failure to provide required information, documents, or fees. An application is not considered complete until all required documentation, information, and fees have been received.

    (A) Letter of acceptance of application for licensure approving the license and authorizing operation after successfully passing the pre-licensing inspection - within 30 days after the date of passing the pre-licensing inspection. The original license may serve as the letter of acceptance.

    (B) Letter of application deficiency - within 30 days after receipt of a deficient application.

    (C) Letter of pre-licensing inspection deficiency - a notice of deficiency will be issued to the camp representative on site at the conclusion of the pre-licensing inspection if any deficiencies were noted during the inspection. The camp shall provide documentation that all deficiencies have been corrected within 10 days after the inspection or prior to camp operation, whichever comes first.

  (3) In the event that an application for a new license is not processed within the timeframe established in paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection, and no good cause exists for the delay, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular application process so long as a complete application was submitted at least 90 calendar days prior to camp operation. Requests for reimbursement shall be made in writing to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group. Good cause for exceeding the time period is considered to exist if the number of applications for licensure exceeds by 15% or more the number of applications processed the same calendar quarter of the preceding year or any other condition exists giving the department good cause for exceeding the time period.

  (4) If the request for reimbursement as authorized by paragraph (3) of this subsection is denied, the applicant may then appeal to the commissioner for a resolution of the dispute. The applicant shall give written notice to the commissioner requesting reimbursement of the fee paid because the application was not processed within the established time period. The department shall submit a written report of the facts related to the processing of the application and good cause for exceeding the established time periods. The commissioner shall make the final decision and provide written notification of the decision to the applicant and to the department.

(c) Record availability. All records, except criminal background and sex offender registration database checks (including any written evaluation for any staff member or volunteer with a criminal conviction or deferred adjudication), required by this subchapter shall be made available to the department immediately upon request. Criminal background and sex offender registration database checks (including any written evaluation for any staff member or volunteer with a criminal conviction or deferred adjudication) shall be made available to the department within two business days upon request.

(d) Term of license. The term of a youth camp license shall be one year, beginning on the date of issuance.

(e) License non-transferable. A youth camp license is not transferable and may not be sold, assigned, or otherwise transferred. Any new entity that acquires the operation of a youth camp through sale, assignment, or other transfer shall obtain a new license.

(f) Ownership change. A new application, fee, pre-licensing inspection, and license is required if there is a change in ownership.

(g) Name change. If a camp changes its name during operation, but does not change location or ownership, then a new license certificate may be issued if requested using the form designated by the department, available at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm, accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $20.

(h) Location change. A new application, fee, pre-licensing inspection, and license is required if there is a change in physical camp location.

(i) Duplicate license. A duplicate license may be issued if requested using the form designated by the department, available at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/forms.shtm, accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $20.

(j) Denials.

  (1) The department may deny an application for licensing to those who fail to meet the standards established by the rules in this subchapter. When the department proposes to deny an application, it shall give notice of the proposed action in writing and shall provide information on how to request an administrative hearing. The applicant shall make a written request for a hearing within 30 days from the date on the notice letter sent by the department. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the Act, the Administrative Procedure Act, Government Code, Chapter 2001, and the formal hearing procedures of the department at 25 Texas Administrative Code, §1.21 et seq.

  (2) A letter of denial of licensure may be issued within 60 days after the receipt of application if the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(A) or (B) of this section.

  (3) A letter of denial of licensure may be issued if the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(C) of this section:

    (A) within 60 days following the first scheduled date of camp operations if a pre-licensing inspection has not been completed; or

    (B) within 60 days following the first scheduled date of camp operations if the camp does not pass the pre-licensing inspection.

  (4) A license holder whose license has been denied or revoked may not reapply for a new license for two years from the date of final denial or revocation.

(k) Refunds.

  (1) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(A) or (B) of this section, the application may be denied and the license fee, less a handling fee of $50, may be refunded. If an application is denied because the facility does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(A) or (B) of this section, the applicant should determine if a license from another agency is required.

  (2) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (a)(3)(C) of this section, the application may be denied and the license fee may not be refunded.


Source Note: The provisions of this §265.23 adopted to be effective April 16, 2006, 31 TexReg 3049; amended to be effective May 16, 2010, 35 TexReg 3815; amended to be effective March 13, 2014, 39 TexReg 1713; amended to be effective February 25, 2019, 44 TexReg 862

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page