<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 25HEALTH SERVICES
PART 1DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
CHAPTER 265GENERAL SANITATION
SUBCHAPTER BTEXAS YOUTH CAMPS SAFETY AND HEALTH
RULE §265.24Application and Denial of a Renewal License

(a) Renewal of a youth camp license. A person holding a license under the Act shall renew the license annually before the license expires.

(b) Renewal notice. At least 60 days before a license expires, the department, as a service to the licensee, may send a renewal notice to the licensee or registrant to the last known address of the licensee. It remains the responsibility of the licensee to keep the department informed of the licensee's current address and to take action to renew the license whether or not they have received the notification from the department. The renewal notice shall state:

  (1) the type of license requiring renewal;

  (2) the time period allowed for renewal; and

  (3) the amount of the renewal fee.

(c) Renewal requirements. Renewal applications and fees shall be submitted to the department prior to the license's annual expiration date.

  (1) Submitting an application. A renewal application is made by submitting:

    (A) a completed youth camp renewal application;

    (B) an activity schedule showing dates and detailed information about the activities that are conducted both at the camp and at other locations;

    (C) any other requested documents and information; and

    (D) paying the renewal license fee as described in §265.28 of this title (relating to Fees).

  (2) Obtaining an application. A blank renewal application may be obtained by calling the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group at (512) 834-6600, or may be downloaded from the website at www.dshs.state.tx.us/youthcamp/default.shtm. Renewal applications may be submitted to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group, Department of State Health Services, Mail Code 2003, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347.

  (3) Qualifying for renewal of a youth camp license. The department shall issue a renewal license if the facility:

    (A) meets the definition of a "Youth camp" as described in §265.11(25) of this title (relating to Definitions);

    (B) meets the definition of "Youth camp, general characteristics of" in §265.11(27) of this title; and

    (C) is in compliance with all provisions of the Act and the rules prior to operation as determined by:

      (i) submitting a complete renewal application as described in this subsection;

      (ii) passing a pre-licensing inspection conducted by the department, if required; and

      (iii) complying with all final orders resulting from any violations of this subchapter before the application for renewal is submitted.

(d) Processing renewal applications.

  (1) Applications for license renewal under this subchapter shall be received by the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group prior to the expiration date of the license or 45 days prior to camp operation, whichever is earlier.

  (2) The department shall issue the renewal license or a written notice that the renewal application is complete or that the renewal application is deficient within the following periods of time from the date of receipt of the renewal application. The department shall identify deficiencies in the notice and provide a deadline by which the deficiencies shall be corrected in order for the department to renew the license or to schedule the pre-licensing inspection if required. Deficiencies may include the failure to provide required information, documents, or fees, or the failure to schedule or successfully pass the pre-licensing inspection if required. An application is not considered complete until all required documentation, information, and fees have been received. If a camp is subject to pre-licensing inspection, the time period for issuing a letter of acceptance of application for license renewal begins upon successfully passing inspection.

    (A) Letter of acceptance of application for license renewal approving the license and authorizing operation - within 30 days. The original license may serve as the letter of acceptance.

    (B) Letter of renewal application deficiency - within 30 days after receipt of a deficient renewal application.

    (C) Letter of pre-licensing inspection deficiency - a notice of deficiency will be issued to the camp representative on site at the conclusion of the pre-licensing inspection if any deficiencies were noted during the inspection. The camp shall provide documentation that all deficiencies have been corrected within 10 days after the inspection or prior to camp operation, whichever comes first.

  (3) In the event that a timely and complete application for license renewal is not processed within timeframe established in paragraph (2)(A) of this subsection, and no good cause exists for the delay, the applicant has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular application process. Requests for reimbursement shall be made in writing to the Environmental and Sanitation Licensing Group. Good cause for exceeding the time period is considered to exist if the number of applications for licensure exceeds by 15% or more the number of applications processed the same calendar quarter of the preceding year or any other condition exists giving the department good cause for exceeding the time period.

  (4) If the request for reimbursement as authorized by paragraph (3) of this subsection is denied, the applicant may then appeal to the commissioner for a resolution of the dispute. The applicant shall give written notice to the commissioner requesting reimbursement of the fee paid because the application was not processed within the established time period. The department shall submit a written report of the facts related to the processing of the application and good cause for exceeding the established time periods. The commissioner shall make the final decision and provide written notification of the decision to the applicant and to the department.

(e) Late renewal. If a license is not renewed within one year after the expiration date, the license may not be renewed. A new license may be obtained by submitting a new application in compliance with §265.23 of this title (relating to Application and Denial of a New License; Non-transferable). If the license is renewed after its expiration date, the renewed license shall expire on the date the license would have expired had it been renewed timely.

(f) Non-renewal. The department may refuse to renew a license if the applicant has not complied with all final orders resulting from any violations of these sections. Eligibility for license renewal may be reestablished by meeting all conditions of the orders and complying with the requirements of this section. The department may not renew the license of a youth camp that has not corrected deficiencies identified in a final order before the application for renewal is submitted. Evidence of corrections, such as photography or documentation satisfactory to the department, shall be submitted to and approved by the Environmental and Sanitation Business Filing and Verification Unit prior to submitting the renewal application to the Business Filing and Verification Section of the Consumer Protection Division.

(g) Application determination affecting license expiration. If a license holder makes timely and sufficient application for the renewal of a license, the existing license does not expire until the application has been finally determined by the department. If the application is denied, the existing license does not expire until the last day for seeking review of the agency order or a later date fixed by order of the reviewing court.

(h) Reapplication for license upon denial or revocation. A license holder whose license has been denied or revoked may not reapply for a new license for two years from the date of final denial or revocation.

(i) Opportunity for a hearing. When the department proposes to deny an initial or renewal application, it shall give notice of the proposed action in writing and shall provide information on how to request an administrative hearing. The applicant shall make a written request for a hearing within 30 days from the date on the notice letter sent by the department.

(j) Pre-licensing inspections. A youth camp applying for a license renewal may be subject to a pre-licensing inspection. Youth camps shall be in compliance with all provisions of the Act and the rules prior to operation.

(k) Denials.

  (1) The department may deny a renewal application for licensing to those who fail to meet the standards established by these rules. Prior to denying a renewal license, the department shall give the applicant an opportunity for a hearing. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the Act, the Administrative Procedure Act, Government Code, Chapter 2001, and the formal hearing procedures of the department at 25 Texas Administrative Code §1.21 et seq.

  (2) A letter of denial of license renewal may be issued within 60 days of the receipt of application if the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(A) or (B) of this section.

  (3) A letter of denial of license renewal may be issued within 60 days following the first scheduled date of camp operations if the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(C) of this section.

(l) Refunds.

  (1) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(A) or (B) of this section, the renewal application may be denied and the renewal license fee, less a handling fee of $50, may be refunded. If an applicant is denied because the facility does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(A) or (B) of this section, the applicant should determine if a license from another agency is required.

  (2) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of subsection (c)(3)(C) of this section, the renewal application may be denied and the renewal license fee may not be refunded.


Source Note: The provisions of this §265.24 adopted to be effective April 16, 2006, 31 TexReg 3049; amended to be effective May 16, 2010, 35 TexReg 3815; amended to be effective March 13, 2014, 39 TexReg 1713; amended to be effective February 25, 2019, 44 TexReg 862

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page