<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 25HEALTH SERVICES
PART 1DEPARTMENT OF STATE HEALTH SERVICES
CHAPTER 265GENERAL SANITATION
SUBCHAPTER BTEXAS YOUTH CAMPS SAFETY AND HEALTH
RULE §265.27Revocation, Administrative Penalties, and Hearings

(a) License revocation.

  (1) If the department finds that a violation of the Act or of a rule has occurred or is occurring at a youth camp for which a license has been issued, the department shall give written notice to the licensee setting forth the nature of the violation and demanding that the violation cease.

  (2) The department may initiate proceedings to revoke the license if the licensee fails to comply with the notice to cease in the time and manner directed in the notice.

(b) Assessment of an administrative penalty. The Commissioner may assess an administrative penalty if a person violates the Act, a rule of the department, or an order of the commissioner issued under the Act or rules.

(c) Determination of the penalty amount. In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:

  (1) previous compliance history;

  (2) the seriousness of the violation;

  (3) any hazard to public health and safety;

  (4) the person's demonstrated good faith; and

  (5) any other matters as justice may require.

(d) Administrative penalty limits. The administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 a day for each violation. Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation.

(e) Opportunity for a hearing. Prior to revoking a license or assessing an administrative penalty, the department shall give the person charged an opportunity for a hearing. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the Act, the Administrative Procedures Act, Government Code, Chapter 2001, and the formal hearing procedures of the department at 25 Texas Administrative Code §1.21 et seq.

(f) Violation severity levels. Violations shall be categorized into severity levels I, II, and III. Administrative penalties may be imposed for:

  (1) Critical violations. Severity level I violations have or could have a direct or immediate negative effect on the health, safety, and welfare of campers or the operation and management of a youth camp. These violations are assessed at $750 - $1,000 per violation per day. Examples of severity level I violations include, but are not limited to:

    (A) operating a youth camp without a current license;

    (B) failing to report an incident of camper abuse or neglect of a camper as required;

    (C) providing drinking water from an unapproved source;

    (D) policies or procedures not being followed in a way that has a direct negative impact on camper health or safety;

    (E) unqualified or insufficient number of personnel staffing operations or activities;

    (F) criminal conviction and sex offender records not on file;

    (G) sexual abuse training and exam records not on file; and

    (H) interfering with, denying, or delaying an inspection or investigation conducted by a department representative.

  (2) Serious violations. Severity level II violations are those that could threaten the health, safety, and welfare of campers or the operation and management of a youth camp. These violations are assessed at $500 - $750 per violation per day. Examples of severity level II violations include, but are not limited to:

    (A) written personnel practices and policies regarding camp and staff are not available as required;

    (B) staff members not informed regarding personnel and camp practice policies;

    (C) proper sanitation of all food utensils not achieved;

    (D) policies or procedures not being followed in a way that could threaten the health, safety, and welfare of campers or the operation and management of a youth camp;

    (E) swimming areas not maintained in clean condition; or

    (F) disaster and/or fire evacuation procedures are not posted properly.

  (3) Significant violations. Severity level III violations are those of concern that if left uncorrected could lead to more serious circumstances. These violations are assessed at $250 - $500 per violation per day. Examples of severity level III violations include, but are not limited to:

    (A) toilets and bathing facilities not adequately lighted and ventilated;

    (B) docking and waterskiing permitted in the swimming area;

    (C) vehicles used to transport staff or campers not equipped with a first aid kit;

    (D) policies or procedures not being followed in a way that if left uncorrected could lead to more serious circumstances; and

    (E) unauthorized nudity allowed.


Source Note: The provisions of this §265.27 adopted to be effective April 16, 2006, 31 TexReg 3049; amended to be effective May 16, 2010, 35 TexReg 3815

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page