<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §271.157Special Casework Procedures for Adult Foster Care

(a) To receive payment, each adult foster care provider must send a completed purchase voucher for adult foster care providers form to DHS for each month the foster care client lives in the home. The daily rate paid to adult foster care providers is $11.75; after September 1, 1996, the daily rate paid to adult foster care providers is $13.64.

(b) Enrollment of an adult foster home means that the home is meeting all standards or appropriate waivers have been obtained.

(c) The caseworker, with supervisory approval, may disenroll an adult foster home if the provider is not able to care for the client(s) because of health reasons. The provider is required to submit, when requested by the department, a physician's statement that he is physically and mentally able to continue providing personal care and 24-hour supervision.

(d) Adult foster care providers may be disenrolled for noncompliance with the minimum standards for adult foster care or other program rules. Adult foster care providers and applicants have a right to appeal the decision to not approve their application to be a provider or to disenroll the home. The administrative law judge is the department employee appointed to preside over the hearing.

(e) Representatives of the Texas Department of Human Services may enter the premises of the DHS enrolled foster home at any time to make inspections or to privately interview the clients receiving assistance from the Texas Department of Human Services.

(f) The Texas Department of Human Services pays the daily rate for up to 14 days of leave for each 12-consecutive-month period when an authorized client is away from the foster home. Payment for leave in excess of 14 days per year is the responsibility of the client. Any bedhold charges are between the client and provider because they have negotiated a monthly room and board agreement. Bedhold charges, however, may not exceed the daily room and board rate.

(g) The adult foster care provider is responsible for notifying the caseworker when a client is away from the foster home for personal leave or hospitalization.

Source Note: The provisions of this §271.157 adopted to be effective March 29, 1982, 7 TexReg 1193; amended to be effective March 15, 1988, 13 TexReg 882; amended to be effective March 27, 1989, 14 TexReg 992; amended to be effective May 15, 1989, 14 TexReg 2030; amended to be effective March 27, 1991, 16 TexReg 1508; amended to be effective September 1, 1991, 16 TexReg 4174; amended to be effective November 11, 1991, 16 TexReg 5406; amended to be effective February 1, 1997, 22 TexReg 847; transferred effective September 15, 2023, as published in the August 18, 2023, issue of the Texas Register, 48 TexReg 4523

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page