<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 26HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
PART 1HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION
CHAPTER 553LICENSING STANDARDS FOR ASSISTED LIVING FACILITIES
SUBCHAPTER AINTRODUCTION
RULE §553.4License Fees

(a) Basic fees.

  (1) Type A and Type B. The license fee is $300, plus $15 for each bed for which a license is sought, with a maximum of $2,250 for a three-year license. The license fee for a two-year license issued in accordance with §92.15(b)(1) or (c)(1) of this chapter is $200, plus $10 for each bed for which a license is sought, with a maximum of $1,500. The fee must be paid with an initial application, change of ownership application, or renewal application.

  (2) Type C. The license fee is $150 for a three-year license. The license fee for a two-year license issued in accordance with §92.15(b)(1) of this chapter is $100. The fee must be paid with a renewal application.

  (3) Increase in capacity. An approved increase in capacity is subject to an additional fee of $15 for each bed.

(b) Late renewal fee. An applicant that submits an application for license renewal later than the 45th day before the expiration date of the license must pay a late fee of an amount equal to one-half of the basic fee required in accordance with subsection (a)(1) and (2) of this section.

(c) Alzheimer's certification. In addition to the basic license fee described in subsection (a) of this section, a facility that applies for certification as an Alzheimer's facility under Subchapter C of this chapter (relating to Standards for Licensure) must pay an additional license fee. For a three-year license issued in accordance with subsection (a)(1) of this section or §92.15(a)(1) of this chapter, the additional fee is $300. For a two-year license issued in accordance with §92.15(b)(1) or (c)(1), the additional fee is $200.

(d) Trust fund fee.

  (1) If the amount in the assisted living facility trust fund, established under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter D, and Chapter 247, §247.003(b), is less than $500,000, HHSC collects an annual fee from each facility. The fee is based on a monetary amount specified for each licensed unit of capacity or bed space, and is in an amount sufficient to provide not more than $500,000 in the trust fund. When the trust fund fee is collected, HHSC sends written notice to each facility stating the amount of the fee and the date the fee is due. A facility must pay the amount of the fee within 90 days after the date the fee is due.

  (2) HHSC may charge and collect a trust fund fee more than once a year if necessary to ensure that the amount in the assisted living facility trust fund is sufficient to make the disbursements required under Texas Health and Safety Code, §242.0965. When this subsequent trust fund fee is collected, HHSC sends written notice to each facility stating the amount of the fee and the date the fee is due. A facility must pay the amount of the fee within 90 days after the date the fee is due.

  (3) Failure to pay the trust fund fee within 90 days after the date the fee is due as stated on the written notice described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection may result in an assessment of an administrative penalty under the administrative penalties described in Subchapter H, Division 9 of this chapter (relating to Administrative Penalties).

(e) Plan review fee. An applicant may submit building plans for a new building, an addition, the conversion of a building not licensed, or for the remodeling of an existing licensed facility for review by HHSC architectural staff. If the applicant chooses to submit building plans for review, the applicant must pay a fee for the plan review according to the following schedule:

Attached Graphic

(f) Payment of fees. A facility or applicant must pay fees by check, cashier's check, money order, or credit card, made payable to HHSC. All fees are nonrefundable, except as provided in Texas Government Code, Chapter 2005, and in §92.13(d) of this chapter (relating to Time Periods for Processing All Types of License Applications).

(g) Expedited Life Safety Code and physical plant inspection fee. An applicant may obtain a Life Safety Code and physical plant inspection within 15 business days after HHSC receives a written request for an expedited inspection if:

  (1) the applicant:

    (A) meets the criteria in §92.14 of this chapter (relating to Initial License Application Procedures and Requirements); or

    (B) has a current license, and is completing construction that does not alter the capacity of the facility; and

  (2) the applicant submits the appropriate Life Safety Code fee listed in the following schedule:

Attached Graphic

(h) If, after HHSC conducts two Life Safety Code inspections for a given application, the applicant requests an additional inspection, then the applicant must pay a fee of $25 per bed, with a minimum payment of $1,000 for the third and each subsequent inspection pertaining to the same application.


Source Note: The provisions of this §553.4 adopted to be effective January 15, 2009, 34 TexReg 240; amended to be effective June 1, 2010, 35 TexReg 4471; amended to be effective October 29, 2018, 43 TexReg 7205; transferred effective May 1, 2019, as published in the Texas Register April 12, 2019, 44 TexReg 1886

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page