<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 26HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
PART 1HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION
CHAPTER 553LICENSING STANDARDS FOR ASSISTED LIVING FACILITIES
SUBCHAPTER EINSPECTIONS, SURVEYS, AND VISITS
RULE §553.83Informal Dispute Resolution

(a) If a facility disputes a violation of a licensing rule, which HHSC cites on a statement of violations in accordance with §92.82(f) of this subchapter (relating to Determinations and Actions), the facility may request informal dispute resolution conducted in accordance with Texas Government Code §531.058 and Texas Health and Safety Code §247.051.

(b) To request informal dispute resolution, a facility must submit a completed Informal Dispute Resolution Request Form to HHSC in accordance with the form's instructions no later than 10 days after the facility receives the statement of violations. The request form must summarize each violation that the facility disputes. A facility must indicate on the form if it is requesting documents from HHSC.

(c) If a facility requests informal dispute resolution in accordance with subsection (b) of this section, HHSC sends to the facility a copy of all documents referenced in the disputed statement of violations or on which a cited licensure violation is based in connection with the survey, inspection, investigation, or other regulatory visit, including any notes taken by, or emails or messages sent by, an HHSC employee involved with the survey, inspection, investigation, or other regulatory visit, no later than 20 working days after HHSC receives the facility's request for informal dispute resolution. HHSC redacts or excludes the following information from the documents it sends to the facility:

  (1) the name of any complainant, witness, or informant;

  (2) information that would reasonably lead to the identification of a complainant, witness, or informant;

  (3) information obtained from or contained in the records of the facility;

  (4) information that is publicly available; and

  (5) information that is confidential by law.

(d) HHSC may charge a facility $15.00 per hour for the time HHSC spends to redact the information described in subsection (c)(1) and (2) of this section. A facility must pay any amounts that HHSC charges it in accordance with this subsection.

(e) If a facility requesting informal dispute resolution requests any documents other than documents which HHSC provides under subsection (c), it must reimburse HHSC for any costs associated with HHSC's preparation, copying, and delivery of information responsive to the facility's request.


Source Note: The provisions of this §553.83 adopted to be effective November 1, 2014, 39 TexReg 8266; amended to be effective October 28, 2018, 43 TexReg 7208; transferred effective May 1, 2019, as published in the Texas Register April 12, 2019, 44 TexReg 1886

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page