<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 26HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
PART 1HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION
CHAPTER 556NURSE AIDES
RULE §556.7Review and Reapproval of a Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP)

(a) A NATCEP must apply to have its approval renewed every two years. HHSC sends a notice of renewal to a NATCEP at least 60 days before the expiration date of an approval.

(b) A NATCEP must submit a NATCEP application at least 30 days before the expiration date of an approval. If a NATCEP does not file an application to renew an approval at least 30 days before the expiration of the approval, the approval expires.

(c) HHSC uses the results of an on-site visit to determine NATCEP compliance with the Act and this chapter and to decide whether to renew the approval of a NATCEP.

(d) HHSC may conduct an on-site review of a NATCEP at any reasonable time.

(e) HHSC provides written notification to a NATCEP of deficiencies found during an on-site review.

  (1) If a NATCEP receives a notification of deficiencies from HHSC, the NATCEP must submit a written response to HHSC, which must include a plan of correction (POC) to correct all deficiencies.

  (2) HHSC may direct a NATCEP to comply with the requirements of the Act and this chapter.

  (3) HHSC may not renew the approval of a NATCEP that does not meet the requirements of the Act and this chapter by failing to provide an adequate POC.

(f) A NATCEP approved by HHSC may provide in-service education to a nurse aide that is necessary to have a listing on the NAR renewed.

(g) A NATCEP must receive approval or an exemption under Texas Education Code Chapter 132 (relating to Career Schools and Colleges).


Source Note: The provisions of this §556.7 adopted to be effective September 24, 2018, 43 TexReg 6326

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page