<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 26HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
PART 1HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION
CHAPTER 556NURSE AIDES
RULE §556.9Nurse Aide Registry and Renewal

(a) To be listed on the NAR as having active status, a nurse aide must successfully complete a NATCEP, as described in §556.6(i) of this chapter (relating to Competency Evaluation Requirements).

(b) HHSC does not charge a fee to list a nurse aide on the NAR or to renew the nurse aide's listing of active status on the NAR.

(c) A nurse aide listed on the NAR must inform HHSC of the nurse aide's current address and telephone number.

(d) A listing of active status on the NAR expires 24 months after the nurse aide is listed on the NAR or 24 months after the last date of verified employment as a nurse aide, whichever is earlier. To renew active status on the NAR, the following requirements must be met:

  (1) A facility must submit a HHSC Employment Verification form to HHSC that documents that the nurse aide has performed paid nursing or nursing-related services at the facility during the preceding year.

  (2) A nurse aide must submit a HHSC Employment Verification form to HHSC to document that the nurse aide has performed paid nursing or nursing-related services, if documentation is not submitted in accordance with paragraph (1) of this subsection by the facility or facilities where the nurse aide was employed.

  (3) A nurse aide must complete an HHSC course in infection control and proper use of PPE every year.

  (4) A nurse aide must complete at least 24 hours of in-service education every two years. The in-service education must include training in geriatrics and the care of residents with a dementia disorder, including Alzheimer's disease. The in-service education must be provided by:

    (A) a facility;

    (B) an approved NATCEP;

    (C) HHSC; or

    (D) a healthcare entity, other than a facility, licensed or certified by HHSC, the Texas Department of State Health Services, or the Texas Board of Nursing.

  (5) No more than 12 hours of the in-service education required by paragraph (4) of this subsection may be provided by an entity described in paragraph (4)(D) of this subsection.


Source Note: The provisions of this §556.9 adopted to be effective September 24, 2018, 43 TexReg 6326; amended to be effective August 8, 2021, 46 TexReg 4693

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page