|(a) An applicant for a permit under Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, who complies with §557.107(a)
of this chapter (relating to Training Requirements; Nursing Graduates;
Reciprocity) must, no later than 20 days after enrollment in a training
(1) complete an application, including the following
(A) the general statement enrollment form, which must
(i) specific information regarding the applicant's
personal data, certain misdemeanor and felony convictions, work experience,
education, and training;
(ii) a statement that the applicant has met all the
requirements in §557.107(b) of this chapter before the start
of the program;
(iii) a statement that the applicant understands that
application fees submitted in the permit process are nonrefundable;
(iv) a statement that the applicant understands materials
submitted in the application process are nonreturnable;
(v) a statement that the applicant understands that
it is a misdemeanor to falsify any information submitted to HHSC;
(vi) the applicant's signature, which has been dated
and notarized; and
(B) a certified copy or a notarized photocopy of the
applicant's unaltered, original, high school diploma or transcript
or the written results of a general educational development (GED)
test demonstrating that the applicant passed the GED test, unless
the applicant is applying under §557.107(e) of this chapter;
(2) submit the application to HHSC; and
(3) submit the applicant's fingerprints to the Texas
Department of Public Safety for a Federal Bureau of Investigations
criminal background check.
(b) HHSC considers an application under subsection
(a) of this section as officially submitted when HHSC receives the
permit application and examination fee.
(c) An applicant must pay the combined permit and examination
fees by cashier's check or money order made payable to the Health
and Human Services Commission, or by other HHSC-approved payment methods.
All fees are nonrefundable, except as provided by Texas Government
Code, Chapter 2005.
(1) The fee schedule is as follows:
(A) combined permit application and examination fee--$25;
(B) renewal fee--$15;
(C) late renewal fees for permit renewals made after
the permit expires:
(i) $22.50 for an expired permit renewed from one to
90 days after expiration;
(ii) $30 for an expired permit renewed from 91 days
to one year after expiration;
(iii) $30 for a former medication aide who meets the
criteria in §557.115(c)(5) of this chapter (relating to Permit
(D) permit replacement fee--$5.
(2) An initial or a renewal application is considered
incomplete until the fee has been received and cleared through the
appropriate financial institution.
(3) The fee schedule that applies to the correctional
medication aide is in §557.125 of this chapter (relating to Requirements
for Corrections Medication Aides), and the fee schedule that applies
to the home health medication aide is in §557.128 of this chapter
(relating to Home Health Medication Aides).
(d) HHSC verifies the accreditation of the high school
that issued the diploma or transcript, or the testing service or program
that certified the GED test required by subsection (a)(1)(B) of this
section. If HHSC is unable to verify the accreditation status of the
school, testing service, or program, and HHSC requests additional
documentation from the applicant to verify the accreditation status,
the applicant must provide the documentation to HHSC.
(e) HHSC sends a notice listing the additional materials
required to an applicant who does not submit a complete application.
An applicant must submit a complete application by the date of HHSC
(f) HHSC sends notice of HHSC application approval
or deficiency to an applicant in accordance with §557.121 of
this chapter (relating to Permitting of Persons with Criminal Backgrounds)
or §557.127 of this chapter (relating to Application Processing).