<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §19.602Types of Adjuster's Licenses

(a) Any references to the Act in this subchapter are references to Insurance Code Chapter 4101, concerning Insurance Adjusters. The following types of adjuster's licenses are approved for insurance:

  (1) all lines (issuance of "all lines" adjuster's license for those adjusters who qualify in paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection);

  (2) property, casualty, and surety; and

  (3) workers' compensation, employer's liability, USL&H (U.S. Longshoremen's and Harbor Workers' Compensation Insurance).

(b) Under Insurance Code Chapter 4101, the following are exempted from the requirement of an adjuster's license examination or reexamination administered by the department or the department's authorized testing service:

  (1) those persons holding CPCU designation;

  (2) those persons who have received the Associate in Claims (AIC) designation;

  (3) those persons who have a certificate of completion showing that within the past 12 months the applicant has completed a certified adjuster prelicensing education program and passed an examination in compliance with Insurance Code §4101.054, concerning Examination Required, and §19.1006(b) of this title (relating to Course Criteria); and

  (4) those persons who have an adjuster's license that has been expired for a period of more than 90 days but less than one year.

(c) Adjusters must renew their licenses in the manner set forth in §19.801 of this title (relating to General Provisions).

(d) Adjusters may only renew a license that has not expired or has not been expired for more than 90 days; otherwise, the adjuster must apply to the department for a new license.

(e) If an adjuster's license has been expired for one year or more, the adjuster applicant must submit to reexamination. The reexamination must be completed within the 12 months preceding the application unless the adjuster applicant can show that the applicant is exempt from the reexamination as set forth in subsection (b) of this section.

Source Note: The provisions of this §19.602 adopted to be effective January 1, 1976; amended to be effective December 24, 1982, 7 TexReg 4318; amended to be effective December 12, 2000, 25 TexReg 12186; amended to be effective January 6, 2003, 28 TexReg 75; amended to be effective June 19, 2023, 48 TexReg 3285

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page