|(a) The applicant, public interest counsel or other
person may file with the chief clerk a motion to overturn the executive
director's action on an application or water quality management plan
(WQMP) update certification. Regardless of any other law, a state
agency, except a river authority, may not file a motion to overturn
the executive director's action on an application that was received
by the commission on or after September 1, 2011 unless the state agency
is the applicant. Wherever other commission rules refer to a "motion
for reconsideration," that term should be considered interchangeable
with the term "motion to overturn executive director's decision."
(b) A motion to overturn must be filed no later than
23 days after the date the agency mails notice of the signed permit,
approval, or other action of the executive director to the applicant
and persons on any required mailing list for the action.
(c) A motion to overturn must be filed no later than
20 days after the date persons who timely commented on the WQMP update
are notified of the response to comments and the certified WQMP update.
A person is presumed to have been notified on the third day after
the date the notice of the executive director's action is mailed by
first class mail.
(d) An action by the executive director under this
subchapter is not affected by a motion to overturn filed under this
section unless expressly ordered by the commission.
(e) With the agreement of the parties or on their own
motion, the commission or the general counsel may, by written order,
extend the period of time for filing motions to overturn and for taking
action on the motions so long as the period for taking action is not
extended beyond 90 days after the date the agency mails notice of
the signed permit, approval, or other action of the executive director.
(f) Disposition of motion.
(1) Unless an extension of time is granted, if a motion
to overturn is not acted on by the commission within 45 days after
the date the agency mails notice of the signed permit, approval, or
other action of the executive director, the motion is denied.
(2) In the event of an extension, the motion to overturn
is overruled by operation of law on the date fixed by the order, or
in the absence of a fixed date, 90 days after the date the agency
mails notice of the signed permit, approval, or other action of the
(g) When a motion to overturn is denied under subsection
(f) of this section, a motion for rehearing does not need to be filed
as a prerequisite for appeal. Section 80.272 of this title (relating
to Motion for Rehearing) and Texas Government Code, §2001.146,
regarding motions for rehearing in contested cases do not apply when
a motion to overturn is denied. If applicable, the commission decision
may be subject to judicial review under Texas Water Code, §5.351,
or Texas Health and Safety Code, §§361.321, 382.032, or
|Source Note: The provisions of this §50.139 adopted to be effective September 23, 1999, 24 TexReg 8254; amended to be effective February 3, 2000, 25 TexReg 593; amended to be effective April 1, 2001, 26 TexReg 2393; amended to be effective May 3, 2012, 37 TexReg 3120; amended to be effective May 14, 2020, 45 TexReg 3072