<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §65.272Transfer, Sale, and Donation

(a) No person shall purchase, sell, trade for anything of value, barter or offer to purchase, sell, trade for anything of value, or barter a wild raptor.

(b) Except as provided for in §65.271(e)(3) of this title (relating to Trapping), a raptor trapped from the wild shall count against the annual trapping limit of the person who trapped the bird, even if the raptor is transferred to another permittee.

(c) A lawfully caught wild raptor may be transferred to a qualified out-of-state resident in the same year that it was trapped; however, no person may make more than one such transfer per permit year.

(d) A falconer may buy raptors from any legal source and may buy, sell, purchase, barter, and offer to buy sell, purchase, or barter captive-bred raptors to another falconer in this state and to persons outside the state who are authorized under federal and state law to purchase raptors. A captive-bred raptor that is bought, sold, or bartered must be banded with a Type 2 band.

(e) A falconer may transfer a raptor to another falconer, provided the possession limits established by this subchapter are not exceeded.

(f) A falconer may transfer a wild-caught raptor to:

  (1) the holder of a raptor propagation permit, provided:

    (A) the raptor is a sharp-shinned hawk, Cooper's hawk, merlin, or American kestrel and has been used in falconry for a minimum of one year; or

    (B) the raptor is any species of raptor other than the species listed in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and has been used in falconry for a minimum of two years;

  (2) a person other than a raptor propagator who is permitted to possess raptors, provided a licensed veterinarian or permitted wildlife rehabilitator has certified that the raptor is no longer capable of being used for falconry. A permittee who transfers a raptor under the provisions of this paragraph shall furnish the certification and a copy of the permittee's federal form 3-186A to the federal permits office responsible for administering the permit type held by the person to whom the raptor is transferred.

(g) A permitted rehabilitator may transfer a raptor to a general or master falconer for use in falconry, provided the transfer is reported under the provisions of §65.270 of this title (relating to Notification, Reporting, and Recordkeeping Requirements). A raptor acquired from a rehabilitator counts against the possession limits established under the provisions of §65.267 of this title (relating to Permit Privileges and Restrictions) for the person holding the raptor.

(h) A surviving spouse, executor, administrator, or other legal representative of a deceased falconry permittee may transfer any bird held by the permittee to another authorized permittee within 90 days of the death of the falconry permittee. After 90 days, disposition of a bird held under the permit is at the discretion of the department.

Source Note: The provisions of this §65.272 adopted to be effective June 3, 2010, 35 TexReg 4425; amended to be effective January 29, 2019, 44 TexReg 432

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page