|(a) Applicants for new or renewal vehicle inspection
station certification must apply in a manner prescribed by the department.
(b) By submitting a new or renewal vehicle inspection
station application form, the applicant agrees to allow the department
to conduct background checks as authorized by law.
(c) A new or renewal vehicle inspection station application
must include, but is not limited to, the items listed in paragraphs
(1) - (3) of this subsection:
(1) Criminal history disclosure of all convictions,
if the applicant is an entity other than an individual, the executive
officer or other individual specifically authorized by the entity
to sign the application;
(2) Proof of ownership and current status as required
by the department. Such proof includes, but is not limited to, a current
Certificate of Existence or Certificate of Authority from the Texas
Secretary of State and a Certificate of Good Standing from the Texas
Comptroller of Public Accounts; and
(3) Payment of the vehicle inspection station nonrefundable
new and renewal application fee of $100.
(d) If an incomplete new or renewal vehicle inspection
station application is received, notice will be sent to the applicant
stating the application is incomplete and specifying the information
required for completion.
(e) The new or renewal vehicle inspection station applicant
has 60 calendar days after receipt of notice to provide the required
information and submit a complete application. If an applicant fails
to furnish the information, the application will be considered withdrawn
and a new application must be submitted.
(f) A new or renewal vehicle inspection station application
is complete when:
(1) It contains all items required by the department.
(2) It conforms to the Act, this chapter and the Texas
vehicle inspection program's instructions.
(3) All fees are paid pursuant to the Act and this
(4) All requests for additional information are satisfied.
(g) The vehicle inspection station certificate will
expire on August 31 of the odd numbered year following the date of
issuance and is renewable every two years thereafter.
(h) A renewal of the vehicle inspection station certification
issued by the department is conditional upon the receipt of criminal
history record information.
(i) For a new or renewal vehicle inspection station
application to be approved, the owner must:
(1) be at least 18 years of age;
(2) provide proof of identification as required by
(3) not be currently suspended or revoked in the Texas
vehicle inspection program;
(4) complete department provided training;
(5) have a facility that meets the standards for the
appropriate class set forth in this chapter;
(6) have equipment that meets the standards set forth
in §23.13 of this title (relating to Equipment Requirements for
All Classes of Vehicle Inspection Stations); and
(7) meet all other eligibility criteria under the Act
or this chapter.
(j) Certificate holders of vehicle inspection stations
must submit a new application, including applicable fees, to change
a location, or make a change of ownership.
(k) Applicants for new or renewal vehicle inspection
station certification must apply for one of the classes defined in
paragraphs (1) - (3) of this subsection:
(1) Public--A station open to the public performing
inspections on vehicles presented by the public. Stations open to
the public will not be issued a fleet vehicle inspection station license
unless such stations are currently certified as a public vehicle inspection
(2) Fleet--A station not providing vehicle inspection
services to the public; or
(3) Government--A station operated by a political subdivision,
or agency of this state.
|Source Note: The provisions of this §23.1 adopted to be effective March 13, 2013, 38 TexReg 1700; amended to be effective March 1, 2015, 40 TexReg 256; amended to be effective September 15, 2016, 41 TexReg 7119; amended to be effective May 14, 2020, 45 TexReg 3138