<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §20.21Cotton Producer Advisory Committees

(a) Each pest management zone shall be governed by a Cotton Producer Advisory Committee. Producer representation of counties within the zone shall be based on the previous year's total certified cotton production acreage in each county as follows:

  (1) one to 25,000 acres = one representative;

  (2) 25,001 to 50,000 acres = two representatives;

  (3) 50,001 to 75,000 acres = three representatives;

  (4) 75,001 to 100,000 acres = four representatives;

  (5) 100,001 to 125,000 acres = five representatives;

  (6) 125,001 to 150,000 acres = six representatives;

  (7) 150,001 to 175,000 acres = seven representatives;

  (8) 175,001 to 200,000 acres = eight representatives;

  (9) 200,001 to 225,000 acres = nine representatives; and

  (10) more than 225,001 acres = ten representatives.

(b) The commissioner shall appoint the producer members of the Cotton Producer Advisory Committee for a term of four years expiring on December 31 of the fourth year. Appointees may be selected from a pool of nominees submitted by a certified cotton producer organization within the pest management zone, or nominees may be submitted for each individual county by: a County Extension Agriculture Committee; a county FSA Committee; an established agriculture business that is representative of the entire county; or any other established business or non-profit organization as designated by the department.

(c) A producer advisory committee member must be an active producer or a resident landowner of land in cotton production in the county they will represent. A committee member may be re-appointed for consecutive terms.

Source Note: The provisions of this §20.21 adopted to be effective September 2, 1996, 21 TexReg 7969; amended to be effective June 4, 2020 45 TexReg 3619

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page