<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 40SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSISTANCE
PART 2DEPARTMENT OF ASSISTIVE AND REHABILITATIVE SERVICES
CHAPTER 108EARLY CHILDHOOD INTERVENTION SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER HELIGIBILITY, EVALUATION, AND ASSESSMENT
RULE §108.825Eligibility Statement

(a) The interdisciplinary team must document eligibility decisions regarding a child on an eligibility statement containing the elements required by HHSC ECI.

(b) The eligibility statement must document a medically qualifying diagnosis, a qualifying auditory or visual impairment, or the elements required by HHSC ECI for a determination of developmental delay.

(c) The eligibility statement must be:

  (1) completed for every child evaluated;

  (2) in the child's record; and

  (3) updated when eligibility is re-determined.

(d) Only one eligibility type may be listed on the eligibility statement:

  (1) medical diagnosis;

  (2) vision or hearing impairment as defined by the Texas Education Agency; or

  (3) developmental delay.

(e) The eligibility statement is valid:

  (1) for twelve months if the child is younger than 21 months of age;

  (2) until the child's third birthday for a child whose eligibility was determined at 21 months of age or older; or

  (3) for six months from the initial eligibility determination based on a qualitative determination of developmental delay.

(f) If new information about additional qualifying criteria is discovered, the new information is documented in the child's record. The eligibility statement does not need to be changed or updated until eligibility is re-determined.


Source Note: The provisions of this §108.825 adopted to be effective September 1, 2013, 38 TexReg 5524; amended to be effective March 7, 2015, 40 TexReg 939; amended to be effective June 30, 2019, 44 TexReg 3280

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page