<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §153.17License Renewal
Historical Texas Register

(a) General Provisions.

  (1) The Board will send a renewal notice to the license holder at least 90 days prior to the expiration of the license. It is the responsibility of the license holder to apply for renewal in accordance with this chapter, and failure to receive a renewal notice from the Board does not relieve the license holder of the responsibility to timely apply for renewal.

  (2) A license holder renews the license by timely filing an application for renewal, paying the appropriate fees to the Board, and satisfying all applicable education, experience, fingerprint and criminal history check requirements.

  (3) An application for renewal received by the Board is timely and acceptable for processing if it is:

    (A) complete;

    (B) accompanied with payment of the required fees; and

    (C) postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service, accepted by an overnight delivery service, or accepted by the Board's online processing system on or before the date of expiration.

(b) ACE Extensions.

  (1) The Board may grant, at the time it issues a license renewal, an extension of time of up to 60 days after the expiration date of the previous license to complete ACE required to renew a license, subject to the following:

    (A) The license holder must:

      (i) timely submit the completed renewal form;

      (ii) complete an extension request form; and

      (iii) pay the required renewal and extension fees.

    (B) ACE courses completed during the 60-day extension period apply only to the current renewal and may not be applied to any subsequent renewal of the license.

    (C) A person whose license was renewed with a 60-day ACE extension:

      (i) will be designated as non-AQB compliant on the National Registry and will not perform appraisals in a federally related transaction until verification is received by the Board that the ACE requirements have been met;

      (ii) may continue to perform appraisals in non-federally related transactions under the renewed license;

      (iii) must, within 60 days after the date of expiration of the previous license, complete the approved ACE report form and submit course completion certificates for each course that was not already submitted by the provider and reflected in the applicant's electronic license record; and

      (iv) will have the renewed license placed in inactive status if, within 60 days of the previous expiration date, ACE is not completed and reported in the manner indicated in paragraph (2) of this subsection. The renewed license will remain on inactive status until satisfactory evidence of meeting the ACE requirements has been received by the Board and the fee to return to active status required by §153.5 of this title (relating to Fees) has been paid.

  (2) Appraiser trainees may not obtain an extension of time to complete required continuing education.

(c) Renewal of Licenses for Persons on Active Duty. A person who is on active duty in the United States armed forces may renew an expired license without being subject to any increase in fee imposed in his or her absence, or any additional education or experience requirements if the person:

  (1) did not provide appraisal services while on active duty;

  (2) provides a copy of official orders or other documentation acceptable to the Board showing the person was on active duty during the last renewal period;

  (3) applies for the renewal within two years after the person's active duty ends;

  (4) pays the renewal application fees in effect when the previous license expired; and

  (5) completes ACE requirements that would have been imposed for a timely renewal.

(d) Late Renewal. If an application is filed within six months of the expiration of a previous license, the applicant shall also provide satisfactory evidence of completion of any continuing education that would have been required for a timely renewal of the previous license.

(e) Denial of Renewal. The Board may deny an application for license renewal if the license holder is in violation of a Board order.

Source Note: The provisions of this §153.17 adopted to be effective March 2, 1992, 17 TexReg 1231; amended to be effective October 1, 1992, 17 TexReg 6360; amended to be effective April 1, 1993, 18 TexReg 1680; amended to be effective November 10, 1993, 18 TexReg 7542; amended to be effective September 1, 1995, 20 TexReg 6202; amended to be effective March 1, 1997, 22 TexReg 1717; amended to be effective November 17, 1999, 24 TexReg 10090; amended to be effective April 1, 2001, 26 TexReg 2163; amended to be effective January 1, 2003, 27 TexReg 11147; amended to be effective October 16, 2003, 28 TexReg 943; amended tobe effective March 27, 2007, 32 TexReg 1747; amended to be effective June 11, 2008, 33 TexReg 4502; amended to be effective December 27, 2010, 35 TexReg 11658; amended to be effective November 1, 2011, 36 TexReg 7316; amended to be effective December 4, 2012, 37 TexReg 9503; amended to be effective December 22, 2013, 38 TexReg 9049; amended to be effective September 7, 2014, 39 TexReg 6857; amended to be effective January 1, 2016, 40 TexReg 8892; amended to be effective January 1, 2017, 41 TexReg 7107; amended to be effective September 15, 2018; 43 TexReg 5776; amended to be effective December 8, 2019, 44 TexReg 7537; amended to be effective September 8, 2022, 47 TexReg 5336

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page