<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §106.513Natural Gas-Fired Combined Heat and Power Units

with a minimum of 30 minutes for each run or longer if required by the reference method. All engine- and turbine-based CHP units designed to generate more than 375 kW must be retested by the above method after every 16,000 hours of operation, regardless of certification.

  (3) All CHP units which are required by subsection (d)(3) or (4) of this section to have an oxidation catalyst control device shall be tested to verify compliance with the required 70% VOC control efficiency within 90 days of startup. In lieu of the above test, the 70% VOC control requirement shall be satisfied if the unit is tested for gaseous organic compounds and the reduction is at least 90%. The testing shall be conducted using EPA reference methods or equivalent alternative testing methods approved by the executive director and in accordance with the appropriate procedures of the TCEQ Sampling Procedures Manual. All units required to be equipped with an oxidation catalyst control device must also be retested after every 16,000 hours of operation.

  (4) Except for rich-burn engines equipped with oxidation-reduction (three-way) catalysts, and units required to be equipped with an oxidation catalyst under subsection (d)(3) or (4) of this section, the uncontrolled source must demonstrate compliance with the emission standards in subsection (d) of this section.

(f) Recordkeeping. In addition to the minimum records required by §106.8 of this title (relating to Recordkeeping), the owner or operator must keep the following records:

  (1) For the life of the CHP unit, the registration application and any additional representations made during the approval process to obtain the registration; and

  (2) The owner or operator must keep the following records for at least two years and make them available to the TCEQ or any local pollution control program with jurisdiction upon request:

    (A) A record of every one-week period of operation where the CHP unit did not comply with subsection (c)(2) of this section;

    (B) All monitoring and testing data generated in compliance with subsection (e) of this section and in a format that shows the emission standards have been met;

    (C) Records of CHP unit operation sufficient to demonstrate compliance with any applicable hour-based requirements of subsection (e) of this section;

    (D) Records of maintenance described in subsection (g)(2) of this section; and

    (E) Records of the number of hours that any emergency fuel is used under subsection (c)(8) of this section, and the reason why operating on an emergency fuel is necessary.

(g) Planned Maintenance, Startup, and Shutdown.

  (1) This PBR authorizes all emissions from planned startup and shutdown activities associated with facilities that are authorized by this section.

  (2) This PBR authorizes emissions from the following planned maintenance activities associated with facilities authorized by this section: routine maintenance including, but not limited to, filter changes, oxygen sensor replacements, overhauls, lubricant changes, spark plug changes, and emission control system maintenance.

Source Note: The provisions of this §106.513 adopted to be effective August 16, 2012, 37 TexReg 6037

Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page