|(a) No alligator may be imported into this state unless the importer possesses a valid alligator import permit. This subsection does not apply to alligators not taken or originating in Texas that are shipped by common carrier or accompanied by documentation of lawful possession from outside of this state to a destination within this state for immediate shipment outside the state. (b) An import permit is required for shipment of live alligators into this state. No person shall import a live alligator under a permit authorized by this subchapter unless that person has notified the department not less than 24 hours or more than 48 hours prior to each instance of importation. Notification shall be by fax or telephone contact with the Law Enforcement Communications Center in Austin. (c) In the case of alligators taken in another state under a sport hunting license, no import permit is required. (d) Legally tagged and documented alligators and alligator parts may be exported from this state by all categories of license and permit holders. (e) Except as provided in this subchapter, no live alligators shall be exported from Texas without specific departmental authorization. No person shall export an alligator under this subsection unless an alligator export fee of $4.00 per alligator has been paid to the department, except for alligators accompanied by a valid department-issued hide tag.