If a Board disciplinary action is taken against a licensee
that results in the suspension of a license for a specified period
of time, the Board shall identify specific conditions (or prohibitions)
relative to the suspension. The conditions (or prohibitions) should
be clearly stated as part of the negotiated settlement or Board order.
The following guidelines will be utilized when specifying the conditions
of a license suspension.
(1) Licensees shall not practice nor give the appearance
that they are practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry during
the time of suspension. The Board may provide a notice of the Board's
order of suspension for the licensee to post in the reception area
or other place clearly visible to the public.
(2) Licensees shall not supervise other licensees,
nor supervise, encourage, or allow any employee(s) who are not licensed
to practice in Texas, to perform duties described as the practice
of veterinary medicine or equine dentistry in the Veterinary Licensing
Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and other policies of the
(3) During the period of downtime, licensees shall
notify all present and prospective employers of the Board order, including
the terms, conditions, and restrictions imposed. Within 30 days of
the effective date of the order and within 15 days of undertaking
new employment, licensees shall cause their employers to provide written
acknowledgment to the Board that they have read and understand the
terms and conditions of the Board order.
(4) Licensees shall notify all veterinarians, equine
dental providers, and veterinary technician employees with whom the
licensee practices of the Board order and, within 30 days of the effective
date of the order, licensees shall acknowledge to the Board in writing
that this has been done.
(5) A sole practitioner's clinic or facilities may
be used by the disciplined licensee for administrative purposes only.
Examples are opening mail, referring patients, accepting payments
on accounts, and general office tasks. In these instances, he/she
must exercise extreme caution to not be persuaded, coerced, or otherwise
drawn by anyone to practicing or even giving the appearance of practicing
veterinary medicine or equine dentistry. The licensee may lease the
clinic/practice to, or employ, another licensee to continue the clinic
business during suspension.
(6) A disciplined veterinarian who owns/operates a
clinic and employs associate veterinarians may enter the clinic or
hospital for administrative purposes only, as cited in paragraph (5)
of this section.
(7) A disciplined licensee shall abide by the Board's
order and conform to all laws, rules, and regulations governing the
practice of veterinary medicine and equine dentistry in Texas.
(8) If the Board receives information alleging that
the licensee is practicing during the period of suspension (downtime),
Board staff will initiate an investigation. If there is evidence to
support the allegation, the licensee will be subject to further disciplinary