|(a) General provisions.
(1) All fees are nonrefundable and cannot be waived
except as otherwise permitted by law.
(2) Fees required to be submitted online to the Council
must be paid by debit or credit card. All other fees paid to the Council
must be in the form of a personal check, cashier's check, or money
(3) For applications and renewals the Council is required
to collect fees to fund the Office of Patient Protection (OPP) in
accordance with Texas Occupations Code §101.307, relating to
the Health Professions Council.
(4) For applications, examinations, and renewals the
Council is required to collect subscription or convenience fees to
recover costs associated with processing through Texas.gov.
(5) All examination fees are to be paid to the Council's
(b) The Executive Council adopts the following chart
(1) Fees effective through August 31, 2023.
(2) Fees effective on September 1, 2023.
(c) Late fees. (Not applicable to Inactive Status)
(1) If the person's license has been expired (i.e.,
delinquent) for 90 days or less, the person may renew the license
by paying to the Council a fee in an amount equal to one and one-half
times the base renewal fee.
(2) If the person's license has been expired (i.e.,
delinquent) for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person
may renew the license by paying to the Council a fee in an amount
equal to two times the base renewal fee.
(3) If the person's license has been expired (i.e.,
delinquent) for one year or more, the person may not renew the license;
however, the person may apply for reinstatement of the license.
(d) Open Records Fees. In accordance with §552.262
of the Government Code, the Council adopts by reference the rules
developed by the Office of the Attorney General in 1 TAC Part 3, Chapter
70 (relating to Cost of Copies of Public Information) for use by each
governmental body in determining charges under Government Code, Chapter
552 (Public Information) Subchapter F (Charges for Providing Copies
of Public Information).
(e) Military Exemption for Fees. All licensing and
examination base rate fees payable to the Council are waived for the
(1) military service members and military veterans,
as those terms are defined by Chapter 55, Occupations Code, whose
military service, training, or education substantially meets all licensure
(2) military service members, military veterans, and
military spouses, as those terms are defined by Chapter 55, Occupations
Code, who hold a current license issued by another jurisdiction that
has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the
requirements of this state.
|Source Note: The provisions of this §885.1 adopted to be effective September 1, 2020, 45 TexReg 4772; amended to be effective February 9, 2021, 46 TexReg 916; amended to be effective September 19, 2021, 46 TexReg 6264; amended to be effective February 27, 2022, 47 TexReg 786; amended to be effective November 23, 2022, 47 TexReg 7696