|(a) The purpose of ACE is to ensure that license holders
participate in programs that maintain and increase their skill, knowledge,
and competency in real estate appraising.
(b) To renew a license, a license holder must successfully
complete the equivalent of at least 28 classroom hours of ACE courses
approved by the Board, including the 7-hour National USPAP Update
course during the license holder's continuing education cycle. An
ACE course may not be repeated during the license holder's continuing
(c) Awarding ACE credit. The Board will award credit
to a license holder for an ACE course approved by the Board upon receipt
of a course completion roster from an approved ACE provider as required
under §153.40 of this title (relating to Approval of Continuing
Education Providers and Courses).
(d) Continuing education credit for qualifying courses.
License holders may receive continuing education credit for qualifying
courses that have been approved by the Board, the AQB or another state
appraiser regulatory agency.
(e) Continuing education credit for courses taken outside
of Texas. An ACE course taken by a Texas license holder outside of
Texas may be accepted on an individual basis for continuing education
credit in Texas upon the Board's determination that:
(1) the ACE course was approved for continuing education
credit by the AQB or another state appraiser regulatory agency at
the time the course was taken;
(2) the Texas license holder's successful completion
of the course has been evidenced by:
(A) a course completion certificate;
(B) a letter from the provider; or
(C) such other proof as is satisfactory to the Board;
(3) the Texas license holder has filed an Out of State
Course Credit Request form with the Board.
(f) Up to one half of a license holder's ACE requirements
may be satisfied through participation other than as a student, in
real estate appraisal educational processes and programs. Examples
of activities for which credit may be granted are teaching an ACE
course, educational program development, authorship of real estate
appraisal textbooks, or similar activities that are determined by
the Board to be equivalent to obtaining ACE.
(g) The following types of courses or activities may
not be counted toward ACE requirements:
(1) Teaching the same ACE course more than once per
license renewal cycle;
(2) "In house" education or training; or
(3) Appraisal experience.
(h) ACE credit for attending a Board meeting.
(1) The Board may award a minimum of two hours and
up to a maximum of 4 hours of ACE credit to a current license holder
for attending the Board meeting held in February of an even numbered
(2) The hours of ACE credit to be awarded will depend
on the actual length of the Board meeting.
(3) ACE credit will only be awarded in whole hour increments.
For example, if the Board meeting is 2 and one half hours long, only
2 hours of ACE credit will be awarded.
(4) To be eligible for ACE credit for attending a Board
meeting, a license holder must:
(A) Attend the meeting in person;
(B) Attend the entire meeting, excluding breaks;
(C) Provide photo identification; and
(D) Sign in and out on the class attendance roster
for the meeting.
(5) No ACE credit will be awarded to a license holder
for partial attendance.
(i) ACE credit for attending presentations by current
Board members or staff. As authorized by law, current members of the
Board and Board staff may teach or guest lecture as part of an approved
ACE course. To obtain ACE credit for attending a presentation by a
current Board member or Board staff, the course provider must submit
the applicable form and satisfy the requirements for ACE course approval
in this section.
|Source Note: The provisions of this §153.18 adopted to be effective March 1, 1997, 22 TexReg 1717; amended to be effective January 1, 1999, 23 TexReg 6443; amended to be effective August 15, 1999, 24 TexReg 6293; amended to be effective November 17, 1999, 24 TexReg 10090; amended to be effective April 1, 2001, 26 TexReg 2163; amended to be effective January 1, 2003, 27 TexReg 11147; amended to be effective June 16, 2003, 28 TexReg 4554; amended to be effective January 1, 2006, 30 TexReg 8689; amended to be effective June 6, 2006, 31 TexReg 4624; amended to be effective March 27, 2007, 32 TexReg1747; amended to be effective November 9, 2008, 33 TexReg 8943; amended to be effective September 20, 2010, 35 TexReg 8496; amended to be effective March 20, 2011, 36 TexReg 1669; amended to be effective September 7, 2014, 39 TexReg 6857; amended to be effective March 13, 2016, 41 TexReg 1688; amended to be effective September 15, 2018; 43 TexReg 5776; amended to be effective December 16, 2018, 43 TexReg 8117; amended to be effective December 6, 2020, 45 TexReg 8518