<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
RULE §172.10Department of State Health Services Medically Underserved Area (DSHS-MUA) Temporary License

The board may issue a temporary license to practice medicine to a physician who is appointed by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to provide free services at medically underserved areas at its regional clinics. Medically underserved areas shall be those areas as defined under §157.052 of the Medical Practice Act.

  (1) Length of Temporary License. The DSHS-MUA temporary licenses may be valid for up to 31 days and a physician may not be issued more than one temporary license in any 12-month period.

  (2) Eligibility.

    (A) The physician must hold a current medical license that is free of any restriction, disciplinary order or probation in another state, territory, a Canadian province, or uniformed service of the United States.

    (B) Each medical license held in another state, territory, Canadian province, or uniformed service of the United States must be free of any restrictions, disciplinary order or probation.

    (C) The physician must be employed by the Texas Army National Guard, the uniformed service of the United States, or the national branches of the military reserves.

  (3) Scope. A DSHS-MUA temporary license holder may only provide services at a DSHS regional clinic in a medically underserved area as defined under §157.052 of the Medical Practice Act.

  (4) Supervision. The DSHS-MUA temporary license holder must be supervised by a physician who has an unrestricted and active license in Texas. The physician shall provide continuous supervision, but the constant physical presence of the supervising physician is not required.

  (5) Deadline. DSHS must submit applications on behalf of physicians requiring temporary licenses at least 30 days before the anticipated start date at the DSHS regional clinic.

Source Note: The provisions of this §172.10 adopted to be effective January 9, 2005, 29 TexReg 12188

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page