The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter,
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates
(1) ADE-1317--The driver education certificate of completion
used for certifying completion of a driver education course exclusively
for adults. This term encompasses all parts of a certificate of completion
with the same control number issued for an approved driver education
course. The ADE-1317 consists of two parts designated as follows:
Texas Department of Public Safety Copy and the School Copy. It is
a government record as defined under Texas Penal Code, §37.01(2).
(2) Advertising--Any affirmative act, whether written
or oral, designed to call public attention to a school and/or course
in order to evoke a desire to patronize that school or course. This
includes Meta tags and search engines.
(3) Alternative method of instruction--A method of
instruction for the minor and adult driver education course that does
not require students to be present in a classroom.
(4) Branch school--A licensed driver education school
that has the same ownership and name as a licensed primary driver
(5) Certificate of program completion--serially numbered
certificates that are printed, administered, and supplied by the course
provider that have been approved by the department as part of the
drug and alcohol awareness program.
(6) Change of ownership of a school or course provider--A
change in the control of the school. The control of a school is considered
to have changed:
(A) in the case of ownership by an individual, when
more than 50 percent of the school or course provider has been sold
(B) in the case of ownership by a partnership or a
corporation, when more than 50 percent of the school or course provider,
or of the owning partnership or corporation has been sold or transferred;
(C) when the board of directors, officers, shareholders,
or similar governing body has been changed to such an extent as to
significantly alter the management and control of the school or course
(7) Clock hour:
(A) Driver Education School Clock hour--55 minutes
of instruction time in a 60-minute period for a driver education course.
This includes classroom and in-car instruction time.
(B) Driving Safety School and Drug and Alcohol Awareness
Program Clock Hour--50 minutes of instruction in a 60-minute period
for a driving safety course.
(8) Code--Refers to Texas Education Code, Chapter 1001.
(9) Contract site--An accredited public or private
secondary school approved as a location for a driver education course
of a licensed school. A driver training school may conduct a driver
training course at a public or private school for students of the
public or private school as provided by an agreement with the public
or private school. The course is subject to any law applicable to
a course conducted at the main business location of the driver training
(10) Criminal history record information--In accordance
with the Texas Government Code, §411.082(2), information collected
about a person by the Texas Department of Public Safety, a law enforcement
or a criminal justice agency, or a private entity governed by the
Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 United States Code, §1681 et seq.)
that consists of identifiable descriptions and notations of arrests,
detentions, indictments, and other formal criminal charges and their
(11) DE-964--The driver education certificate of completion
used for certifying completion of an approved minor and adult driver
education course. This term encompasses all parts of a certificate
of completion with the same control number issued for an approved
driver education course. The DE-964 certificate consists of four parts
designated as follows: Texas Department of Public Safety Copies (Instruction
Permit and Driver's License), Insurance Copy and School Copy. It is
a government record as defined under Texas Penal Code, §37.01(2).
(12) DSY25--refers to the Driving Safety Course for
Driver Younger Than 25 Years of Age pursuant to §1001.111, Education
(13) Educational objectives--The goal to promote respect
for and encourage observance of traffic laws and traffic safety responsibilities
of driver education and citizens; reduce traffic violations; reduce
traffic-related injuries, deaths, and economic losses; and motivate
development of traffic-related competencies through education, including,
but not limited to, Texas traffic laws, risk management, driver attitudes,
courtesy skills, and evasive driving techniques.
(14) Inactive course--a driving safety or specialized
driving safety course for which no uniform certificates of completion
or course completion certificate numbers have been purchased for 36
months or longer.
(15) Instructor Development Course (IDC)--A six semester
hour or nine semester hour department-approved course designed to
prepare participants to obtain a driver education instructor license.
This course is provided by a driver education school in lieu of completing
the required semester hours in driver traffic and safety education
from an accredited college or university.
(16) Instructor Development Program (IDP)--A six semester
hour department-approved course designed to prepare a licensed driver
education instructor to supervise the instruction of a department-approved
driver education instructor development course. This course is provided
by a driver education school in lieu of completing the required semester
hours in driver traffic and safety education from an accredited college
(17) Instructor trainer--A driving safety instructor
trainer (DSIT) or specialized driving safety instructor trainer (SDSIT)
who has been trained to prepare instructors to give instruction in
a specified curriculum. A DSIT or SDSIT supervises the student instructor
trainee during their practical teaching sessions, overseeing their
presentation of the course. The DSIT or SDSIT may provide feedback
and guidance to the trainee concerning their practical teaching but
would not provide the training of techniques of instruction and in-depth
familiarization with course material to the trainee during the Instructor
(18) National criminal history record information--Criminal
history record information obtained from the Federal Bureau of Investigation
under Texas Government Code, §411.087, based on fingerprint identification
(19) New Course--A driving safety or specialized driving
safety course is considered new when it has not been approved by the
department to be offered previously, or has been approved by the department
and become inactive; or the content, lessons, or delivery of the course
has been changed to a degree that a new application is requested and
a complete review of the application and course presentation is necessary
to determine compliance.
(20) Personal validation question--A question designed
to establish the identity of the student by requiring an answer related
to the student's personal information such as a driver's license number,
address, date of birth, or other similar information that is unique
to the student.
(21) Post program exam--an exam designed to measure
the student's comprehension and knowledge of course material presented
after the instruction is completed.
(22) Pre-program exam--an exam given during the program
introduction using questions drawn from material to be covered in
the course to determine the level of drug and alcohol knowledge possessed
by the student prior to receiving instruction.
(23) Primary school--A licensed driver education main
school that may have branch schools.
(24) Public or private school--an accredited public
or non-public secondary school.
(25) Specialized driving safety course--a six-hour
driving safety course that includes at least four hours of training
intended to improve the student's knowledge, compliance with, and
attitude toward the use of child passenger safety seats systems and
the wearing of seat belt and other occupant restraint system.
(26) Teaching techniques--The method of interpersonal
influence which aims to induce learning and the development of a student
by different means. It must be comprised of principles and methods,
used individually or in combination, for increasing class participation,
demonstration, recitation, memorization, or communication.
(27) Uniform certificate of course completion--A document
with a serial number purchased from the department that is printed,
administered and supplied by course providers or primary consignees
for issuance to students who successfully complete an approved driving
safety or specialized driving safety course and that meets the requirements
of Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 543, and Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure, Article 45.051 or 45.0511. This term encompasses all parts
of an original or duplicate uniform certificate of course completion.
(28) Validation question--A question designed to establish
the student's participation in a course or program and comprehension
of the materials by requiring the student to answer a question regarding
a fact or concept taught in the course or program.