|(a) You must report and document the following types
of serious incidents involving a child in your care. The reports must
be made to the following entities, and the reporting and documenting
must be within the specified time frames:
(b) If there is a medically pertinent incident, such
as a seizure, that does not rise to the level of a serious incident,
you do not have to report the incident but you must document the incident
in the same manner as for a serious incident, as described in §749.511
of this division (relating to How must I document a serious incident?).
(c) You must document an unauthorized absence that
does not meet the reporting time requirements defined in subsection
(a)(7) - (9) of this section within 24 hours after you become aware
of the unauthorized absence. You must document the absence:
(1) In the same manner as for a serious incident, as
described in §749.511 of this division; and
(2) Complete an addendum to the serious incident report
to finalize the documentation requirements, if the child returns to
a foster home after 24 hours.
(d) If there is a serious incident involving an adult
resident, you do not have to report the incident to Licensing, but
you must document the incident in the same manner as a serious incident.
You do have to report the incident to:
(1) Law enforcement as outlined in the chart above;
(2) The parents, if the adult resident is not capable
of making decisions about the resident's own care; and
(3) Adult Protective Services through the Texas Abuse
and Neglect Hotline if there is reason to believe the adult resident
has been abused, neglected or exploited.
(e) You must report and document the following types
of serious incidents involving your agency, one of your foster homes,
an employee, professional level service provider, contract staff,
or a volunteer to the following entities within the specified timeframe:
|Source Note: The provisions of this §749.503 adopted to be effective January 1, 2007, 31 TexReg 7469; amended to be effective September 1, 2010, 35 TexReg 7522; amended to be effective June 1, 2014, 39 TexReg 3730; amended to be effective January 1, 2017, 41 TexReg 9944; transferred effective March 9, 2018, as published in the Texas Register February 16, 2018, 43 TexReg 909; amended to be effective June 1, 2020, 45 TexReg 3329; amended to be effective April 25, 2021, 46 TexReg 2454