<<Prev Rule

Texas Administrative Code

Next Rule>>
TITLE 30ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
PART 1TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
CHAPTER 335INDUSTRIAL SOLID WASTE AND MUNICIPAL HAZARDOUS WASTE
SUBCHAPTER AINDUSTRIAL SOLID WASTE AND MUNICIPAL HAZARDOUS WASTE IN GENERAL
RULE §335.13Recordkeeping and Reporting Procedures Applicable to Generators Shipping Hazardous Waste or Class 1 Waste

(a) The requirements of this section do not apply to generators who generate hazardous waste or Class 1 waste in quantities less than 100 kilograms in a calendar month, or acute hazardous waste in quantities specified in §335.78 of this title (relating to Special Requirements for Hazardous Waste Generated by Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators).

(b) Unregistered generators who ship hazardous waste or Class 1 waste shall prepare a complete and correct Waste Shipment Summary from the manifests.

(c) The Waste Shipment Summary shall be prepared in a form provided or approved by the executive director and submitted to the executive director on or before the 25th of each month for shipments originating during the previous month. The unregistered generator must keep a copy of each summary for a period of at least three years from the due date of the summary. These generators are required to prepare and submit a Waste Shipment Summary only for those months in which shipments are actually made.

(d) A registered generator is defined as an in-state generator who has complied with §335.6 of this title (relating to Notification Requirements), and is assigned a solid waste registration number.

(e) An unregistered generator is defined as an in-state generator who is not a conditionally exempt small quantity generator, as defined in §335.78 of this title, that ships hazardous waste and/or Class 1 waste using a temporary solid waste registration number and a temporary Texas waste code number assigned by the executive director.

(f) The registered/unregistered generator shall retain a copy of each manifest required by §335.10 of this title (relating to Shipping and Reporting Procedures Applicable to Generators of Hazardous Waste or Class 1 Waste) for at least three years from the date of shipment by the registered/unregistered generator.

(g) A registered/unregistered generator who does not receive a copy of the manifest with the handwritten signature of the owner or operator of the designated facility within 35 days of the date the waste was accepted by the initial transporter must contact the transporter and/or the owner or operator of the designated facility to determine the status of the hazardous waste or Class 1 waste.

(h) A registered/unregistered generator must submit an exception report to the executive director if he has not received a copy of the manifest with the handwritten signatures of the owner or operator of the designated facility within 45 days of the date that the waste was accepted by the initial transporter. The exception report must be retained by the registered/unregistered generator for at least three years from the date the waste was accepted by the initial transporter and must include:

  (1) a legible copy of the manifest for which the generator does not have confirmation of delivery; and

  (2) a copy of a letter signed by the generator or his authorized representative explaining the efforts taken to locate the hazardous waste or Class 1 waste and the results of those efforts.

(i) The periods of record retention required by this section are automatically extended during the course of any unresolved enforcement action regarding the regulated activity.

(j) Any person who exports or imports hazardous waste must comply with 40 CFR §262.12 and 40 CFR Part 262, Subpart H, as adopted by reference under §335.76(a) of this title (relating to Additional Requirements Applicable to International Shipments).


Source Note: The provisions of this §335.13 adopted to be effective May 28, 1986, 11 TexReg 2335; amended to be effective July 14, 1987, 12 TexReg 2106; amended to be effective July 27, 1988, 13 TexReg 3515; amended to be effective November 23, 1993, 18 TexReg 8218; amended to be effective February 4, 1994, 19 TexReg 509; amended to be effective June 4, 1997, 22 TexReg 4585; amended to be effective October 19, 1998, 23 TexReg 10878; amended to be effectiveNovember 15, 2001, 26 TexReg 9135; amended tobe effective February 21, 2013, 38 TexReg 978; amended to be effective June 11, 2020, 45 TexReg 3780

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page