Texas Register

RULE §300.202License Term and Fees
ISSUE 07/24/2020
ACTION Final/Adopted
Preamble Texas Admin Code Rule

(a)A consumable hemp product license is valid for one year from the date displayed on the license.

(b)The department shall issue and renew a license if the license holder:

  (1)is eligible to obtain a license under §300.201 of this subchapter (relating to Application for License or Renewal);

  (2)submits a license fee to the department;

  (3)does not owe outstanding fees to the department;

  (4)possesses testing results of consumable hemp products before their manufacture, distribution, or sale into commerce, and provides those testing results upon department request; and

  (5)has not been convicted of a felony relating to a controlled substance under federal law or the law of any state in the ten years before the date of renewal of the license.


  (1)Before the manufacture, processing, or distribution of consumable hemp products, a license holder must pay a fee of $250 per facility.

  (2)For each facility a license holder must pay:

    (A)a $250.00 fee for amendment to a new license due to a change of ownership of the licensed facility; or

    (B)a $125.00 fee for any amendment during the licensure period due to minor changes, such as change of location, change of name, or change of address.

  (3)Fees are not prorated.

  (4)A person who files a renewal application after the expiration date of the current license must pay an additional delinquency fee of $100.

(d)An application for an amendment of a consumable hemp product license is complete when the department has received, reviewed, and found acceptable the application information and fee required by the subsection (c) of this section.

(e)An initial and renewal application for a consumable hemp product license must be processed in accordance with the following time periods:

  (1)the first time period of 45 business days begins on the date the department receives a completed application. If an incomplete application is received, the period ends on the date the facility is issued a written notice that the application is incomplete. The written notice shall be issued within 45 business days after receipt of the incomplete application and describe the specific information or fee that is required before the application is considered complete;

  (2)the second time period of 45 business days begins on the date the department receives a completed application and ends on the date the license is issued or the facility is issued a written notice that the application is being proposed for denial; and

  (3)if the applicant fails to submit the requested information or fee within 135 calendar days after the date the department issued the written notice to the applicant as described in paragraph (1) of this subsection, the application is considered withdrawn.

(f)Reimbursement of fees:

  (1)in the event the application is not processed within the time periods stated in subsection (g) of this section, the applicant has the right to make a written request within 30 business days after the end of the second time period that the department shall reimburse in full the fee paid in that application process; and

  (2)if the department finds that good cause does not exist for exceeding the established periods, the request shall be denied, and the department shall notify the applicant in writing of the denial of the reimbursement within 30 business days after the department's decision.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 13, 2020


Barbara L. Klein

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: August 2, 2020

Proposal publication date: May 8, 2020

For further information, please call: (512) 231-5653

Next Page Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page