(1)A person who intends to be licensed by the Commission
must file an application for the license:
(A)through the online process approved by the Commission;
(B)on a form approved by the Commission for that
(C)submit the required fee under §535.210 of
this title (relating to Fees).
(2)The Commission will reject an application submitted
without a sufficient filing fee.
(3)The Commission may request additional information
be provided to the Commission relating to an application.
(b)General Requirements for Licensure.
(1)To be eligible for any inspector license, an applicant
(A)meet the following requirements at the time of
(i)be 18 years of age;
(ii)be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully
(B)comply with the fingerprinting, education, experience
and examination requirements of the Act, Chapter 1102, or the rules
of the Commission;
(C)meet the honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
requirements under the Act; and
(D)provide proof of financial responsibility as required
by Chapter 1102.
(2)The fact that an individual has had disabilities
of minority removed does not affect the requirement that an applicant
be 18 years of age to be eligible for a license.
(c)License for military service members, veterans,
or military spouses. Unless otherwise excepted under §535.58
of this title (relating to License for Military Service Members, Veterans,
or Military Spouses), an applicant who is a military service member,
veteran, or the spouse of a person who is on full-time military service
in the armed forces of the United States or serving on active duty
as a member of the armed forces of the United States must meet all
requirements of this section.
(d)Terminated application. An application will be
terminated and subject to no further evaluation or processing if the
applicant fails to satisfy the requirements of subsection (b)(1) of
this section within one year from the date the application is filed.
(e)Denial of application.
(1)An application for a license may be denied if
the Commission determines that the applicant has failed to satisfy
the Commission as to the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness and
integrity or if the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense
which is grounds for disapproval of an application under §541.1
of this title (relating to Criminal Offense Guidelines). Notice of
the denial and any hearing on the denial shall be as provided in Texas
Occupations Code, §1101.364, and §535.34 of this title (relating
to Salesperson Employed by an Owner of Land and Structures Erected
by the Owner).
(2)Procuring or attempting to procure a license by
fraud, misrepresentation or deceit or by making a material misstatement
of fact in an application is grounds to deny the application or suspend
or revoke the license. It is a violation of this section for a sponsoring
professional inspector knowingly to make a false statement to the
Commission in an application for a license for an apprentice or a
real estate inspector.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed
the adoption and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal
Filed with the Office
of the Secretary of State on August 11, 2020
Texas Real Estate Commission
Effective date: August 31, 2020
Proposal publication date: June 12, 2020
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284