Texas Register

RULE §535.51General Requirements for a Real Estate License
ISSUE 03/03/2023
ACTION Proposed
Preamble Texas Admin Code Rule


  (1)A person who intends to be licensed by the Commission must [file an application for the license]:

    (A)file an application for the license through the online process approved by the Commission[;] or

    [(B)]on the form prescribed by the Commission for that purpose; and

    (B)[(C)] submit the required fee under §535.101 of this chapter [title] (relating to Fees).

  (2)The Commission will reject an application submitted without a sufficient filing fee.

  (3)The Commission may request additional information be provided to the Commission relating to an application.

(b)General Requirements for Licensure.

  (1)To be eligible for a real estate license, an applicant must:

    (A)meet the following requirements at the time of the application:

      (i)be 18 years of age;

      (ii)be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien;

    (B)comply with the fingerprinting, education, experience and examination requirements of the Act; and

    (C)meet the honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity requirements under the Act.

  (2)The fact that an individual has had disabilities of minority removed does not affect the requirement that an applicant be 18 years of age to be eligible for a license.

(c)Termination of application. An application is terminated and is subject to no further evaluation or processing if:

  (1)the applicant fails to satisfy a current, education, experience, or examination requirement within one year from the date the application is filed;

  (2)the applicant fails to submit a required fee within twenty (20) days after the Commission makes written request for payment;

  (3)the applicant fails to provide information or documentation requested by the Commission within one year from the date the application is filed; or

  (4)the applicant fails to provide fingerprints to the Department of Public Safety within one year from the date the application is filed.

(d)Completion of applicable education and experience.

  (1)An applicant is not eligible to take an [ a qualifying] examination for a license until the Commission has received evidence of completion of all education and experience required by this subchapter.

  (2)The Commission will not grant credit to an applicant for completing a course with substantially the same content as a course for which the applicant received credit within the previous two-year period.

  (3)Except as provided by this subchapter and the Act, the Commission will not accept a person's license in another state to meet experience requirements.

(e)Examination. An applicant must take and pass a licensing [written] examination in accordance with §535.57 of this chapter (relating to Examinations) [title].

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the proposal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 15, 2023


Vanessa E. Burgess

General Counsel

Texas Real Estate Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: April 2, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284

Next Page Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page