Texas Register

RULE §535.64Obtaining Approval to Offer a Course
ISSUE 05/24/2013
ACTION Proposed
Preamble Texas Admin Code Rule

(a) - (e)(No change.)

(f)A course approval expires four years from the date of approval. A course that has been approved by the commission may be offered by the original applicant until the expiration date, except that courses approved prior to January 1, 2011 expire December 31, 2015 [2014]. For a course approved after January 1, 2011 and subsequently revised and approved as required by this section, a school may no longer offer the prior version of the course for core or related credit. If any school other than the original applicant obtains approval from the commission to offer the same course, the expiration date remains unchanged.

(g)(No change.)

(h)The Texas Real Estate Commission adopts by reference PRINS 1-0, Core Real Estate Course Approval Form, Principles of Real Estate I and PRINS 2-0, Core Real Estate Course Approval Form, Principles of Real Estate II approved by the Texas Real Estate Commission in 2013 for use in obtaining approval to offer a Principals of Real Estate I or II course. This document is published by and available from the Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188, www.trec.texas.gov.

(i)Each core course must cover all topic areas associated with the course in the Act unless otherwise authorized or amended by this subchapter. Course topic areas required by the Act may be further divided into subtopics by this subchapter. Subtopics may contain subject matter from a single topic area or a combination of topic areas. Subtopics required to be addressed in each core course may be further divided into units. A subtopic may have a required time period ascribed to it by rule.

(j)A core course submitted to the commission for approval must comply with any rule or form adopted by reference which divides selected core course topics into subtopics and units, and must devote the assigned amount of time to each topic or subtopic.

(k)If a form has been adopted by the commission for that purpose, a school applying for approval or revision of a core course shall use the form to indicate the inclusive page numbers where the course materials address each topic or subtopic as required by this subchapter.

(l)If the commission adopts a form that divides topic areas into subtopics and units for a core course required by the Act, a school must revise and supplement a previously approved course no later than 12 months after the effective date of the form adoption. Alternative delivery courses that must be recertified by a distance learning certification center acceptable to the commission must be revised, supplemented, and recertified no later than 15 months after the effective date of the form adoption. A school must provide proof to the commission of the revisions to the course using the form adopted by the commission. A school may not offer a previously approved course for core credit more than 12 months, or 15 months for alternative delivery courses, after the commission has divided topic areas into subtopics unless the commission has approved the revisions required by this subsection.

(m)A school seeking approval of revisions to a previously approved core course pursuant to subsection (l) of this section must pay the fee required by §535.101(b)(13) of this title (relating to Fees). If the school paid a fee for the previous approval, it shall receive a prorated credit for the unexpired time remaining on the approval. The commission shall calculate the unexpired credit by dividing the fee paid by 48 months and multiplying the monthly prorated fee times the number of full months remaining between the date of approval and the expiration date of the prior version. A revised course approved under subsection (l) of this section expires four years from the date of approval.

This agency hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be within the agency's legal authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 10, 2013


Loretta R. DeHay

General Counsel

Texas Real Estate Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 23, 2013

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092

Next Page Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page