Texas Register

RULE §463.8Licensed Psychological Associate
ISSUE 06/19/2015
ACTION Proposed
Rule Withdrawn: 09/16/2015
Preamble Texas Admin Code Rule

(a)Application Requirements. A completed application for licensure as a psychological associate includes, in addition to the requirements set forth in §463.5 of this title (relating to Application File Requirements), documentation of 450 hours of practicum internship, or experience in psychology, in not more than two placements, supervised by a licensed psychologist.

(b)Qualifications. A [subdoctoral] candidate for licensure as a psychological associate shall meet the qualifications and requirements of candidates at the doctoral level as stated in §501.255(a)(2) - (9) of the Act.

(c)Educational Requirements. The Board requires a doctoral degree or master's degree which is primarily psychological in nature. A degree under this subsection must consist of at least 42 semester credit hours for subdoctoral licensure. Of these 42 hours, at least 27 graduate level semester credit hours (exclusive of practicum) must have been in psychology. Six semester credit hours of thesis credit in a department of psychology may be counted toward these 27 semester credit hours. Four hundred and fifty clock hours of practicum, internship, or experience in psychology, in not more than two placements, supervised by a licensed psychologist, must be completed before the written exam may be taken. No experience which is obtained from a psychologist who is related within the second degree of affinity or within the second degree by consanguinity to the person may be considered for psychological associate licensure. Applicants who have a master's degree in psychology conferred from a psychology program in a regionally accredited educational institution, and who have not satisfied the Board's requirements, will be given an opportunity to satisfy the current requirements of the Board. Requirements include:

  (1)enrollment in a regionally accredited college or university in a formal master's or doctoral degree program in psychology;

  (2)completion of a maximum of an additional 12 semester hours of course work to satisfy the Board's requirement of 42;

  (3)submission of a letter from the official in charge of the psychology program offering the additional course work stating that the applicant's graduate degree in psychology, with this additional prescribed course work, is equivalent to a 42 hour master's degree in psychology from that program; and

  (4)submission of a transcript from the educational institution.

(d)Coursework. The application for licensure as a psychological associate shall include course titles and the names of instructors. If questions exist as to the content of course work, the Board may require the applicant to furnish a catalogue of the university or college where the courses were taken and the addresses of instructors.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the proposal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 4, 2015


Darrel D. Spinks

Executive Director

Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists

Earliest possible date of adoption: July 19, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 305-7700

Next Page Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page