Texas Register

RULE §535.208Application for a License
ISSUE 06/09/2023
ACTION Final/Adopted
Preamble Texas Admin Code Rule


  (1)A person who intends to be licensed by the Commission must:

    (A)file an application for the license through the online process approved by the Commission or on a form approved by the Commission for that purpose; and

    (B)submit the required fee under §535.210 of this chapter (relating to Fees).

  (2)The Commission will reject an application submitted without a sufficient filing fee.

  (3)The Commission may request additional information be provided to the Commission relating to an application.

(b)General Requirements for Licensure.

  (1)To be eligible for any inspector license, an applicant must:

    (A)meet the following requirements at the time of the application:

      (i)be 18 years of age;

      (ii)be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien;

    (B)comply with the fingerprinting, education, experience and examination requirements of the Act, Chapter 1102, and the rules of the Commission;

    (C)meet the honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity requirements under the Act; and

    (D)provide proof of financial responsibility as required by Chapter 1102.

  (2)The fact that an individual has had disabilities of minority removed does not affect the requirement that an applicant be 18 years of age to be eligible for a license.

(c)License for military service members, veterans, or military spouses. Unless otherwise excepted under §535.58 of this chapter (relating to License for Military Service Members, Veterans, or Military Spouses), an applicant who is a military service member, veteran, or the spouse of a person who is on full-time military service in the armed forces of the United States or serving on active duty as a member of the armed forces of the United States must meet all requirements of this section.

(d)Terminated application. An application will be terminated and subject to no further evaluation or processing if the applicant fails to satisfy the requirements of subsection (b)(1) of this section within one year from the date the application is filed.

(e)Denial of application.

  (1)An application for a license may be denied if the Commission determines that the applicant has failed to satisfy the Commission as to the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness and integrity or if the applicant has been convicted of a criminal offense which is grounds for disapproval of an application under §541.1 of this title (relating to Criminal Offense Guidelines). Notice of the denial and any hearing on the denial shall be as provided in §1101.364, Texas Occupations Code, and §535.34 of this chapter (relating to Sales Agents Employed by an Owner of Land and Structures Erected by the Owner).

  (2)Procuring or attempting to procure a license by fraud, misrepresentation or deceit or by making a material misstatement of fact in an application is grounds to deny the application or suspend or revoke the license. It is a violation of this section for a sponsoring professional inspector knowingly to make a false statement to the Commission in an application for a license for an apprentice or a real estate inspector.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 22, 2023


Vanessa E. Burgess

General Counsel

Texas Real Estate Commission

Effective date: June 11, 2023

Proposal publication date: March 3, 2023

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3284

Next Page Previous Page

Link to Texas Secretary of State Home Page | link to Texas Register home page | link to Texas Administrative Code home page | link to Open Meetings home page